Ayomide Daso
2 min readSep 2, 2021

WHEN I DIE, BURY ME WITH DEAD ROSES.



I Ogbuefi, a lion with no sting,

A king with no crown,

A ruler of a ruined nation,

A leader of a desolate land.



I am a father, oh yes! a father,

A proud father of seven bastards,

A husband to a Serpent,

Jezebel in all her glory.



I have lived my distasteful life to its fullest,

I have scourged the earth with my impuissant fury,

I have terrorized my subjects with my losses,

My weakness has brought death to our land,

I am now a king in the land of skulls and dry bones.



I have become a jester in the council of kings,

For I have thrown away dignity for satisfaction,

I traded fame for passion,

I left honour for sex,

I replaced glory with infatuation.



I am stuck on this desolate land with Ifunanya,

The serpent with no pride,

The Queen of shame,

The mother of my beautiful bastards,

The goddess of sexual perversion.



My bilious union with Ifunanya was my waterloo,

She brought my ego under her blight,

Like Nicklaus wines and dines in blood, She has wined and dined with my glory,

I gave her my heart for love,

She disposed it in the trash where it belongs.



Now that death is on my corridor,

Now that death has come to whisk my haggard soul away,

I have one more miserable request,

When I die, bury me with dead roses.



BIGMAN AYO

2021

Ayomide Daso

I remember my pen when I connect to my deepest emotions.