Preparing Hobbies are Important for Your Interview

Rina Mondal
5 min readApr 19, 2024

--

I enjoy Travelling, Reading, Writing..

In my first interview in the Central Bank of India i.e. Reserve Bank of India, I mentioned my hobby as reading.

The recruiter wanted to know about the last book I read.

I said about ‘The Alchemist’, my favorite one. He asked my take on it. I shared my learning from the bottom of my heart. My authenticity in sharing my thoughts impressed him, ultimately boosting my confidence.

I cracked the interview. :)

While I wouldn’t claim that it was the sole reason for my success in the interview, but I do believe that sharing my thoughts on ‘The Alchemist’ played a part in helping me crack it.

However, I understand that discussing hobbies during interviews can sometimes be challenging. If you’re not comfortable or unable to demonstrate your knowledge about your hobbies, it may impact the recruiter’s perception of you. While it might not be the sole reason for not getting hired, it could certainly diminish the positive impact you could have made.

Inclusion of hobbies in your portfolio website is paramount, offering a comprehensive portrayal of your personality and unique characteristics. Though it is advised that you should not mention your hobbies in your Resume. But I experienced that some employer asks for it specially for the freshers. I suggest you not to include unless specifically asked to do so but be well prepared. This is a must question in interview.

Hence, I suggest you not to neglect it and get well prepared.

In this blog, I will guide you how to get prepared about your hobbies. I can outline the likely questions you might encounter based on the hobbies you mention. This preparation will help you anticipate and effectively respond to inquiries about your interests.

I strongly recommend being genuine and truthful about your hobbies during interviews. Authenticity is crucial, as fabricating information can be easily detected and may damage your credibility.

Anyway, Let’s discuss the probable questions you may face depending on hobbies you say:

1.Travelling- If you mention a love for travel, it’s essential to be well-prepared regarding recent trips. Expect questions about the places you’ve visited, their historical significance, and what fascinated you the most. You can share links to your travel vlogs, Instagram reels, blogs or Facebook pages if you have which can add authenticity to your passion. If you’re seeking inspiration to create your own travel content, you can refer to the following links for ideas about how to start:

- Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=61556609274089
- YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@Life_at_USA

Additionally, consider starting to write travel-related blogs on platforms like Medium, WordPress or other blogging website, where you can share your travelling experiences.

2. Cooking- If cooking is your passion, be prepared to discuss your favorite dish. Expect questions about the ingredients, cooking techniques, and even the health benefits of the dish. Recruiters might inquire about the calorie content as well. If you write blogs or create vlogs about cooking, showcasing your skills can greatly enhance your credibility. As I said above, you can share the links with the recruiters.

3. Reading- If reading is your hobby, be ready to discuss the content you’ve recently engaged with, whether it’s blogs, storybooks, articles, or anything else. Talk about how reading benefits individuals and aids in gaining knowledge. Reflect on what you’ve learned from recent books you’ve read. Share insights about your favorite authors, as interviewers may inquire about the writers whose works you admire and why.

4. Writing- You can convey the immense satisfaction you derive from crafting words, be it through poetry, stories, articles, or other forms of expression. Utilizing online platforms to showcase your writing skills allows you to reach a broader audience and demonstrate your talent effectively. Utilizing different blogging platforms such as Wordpress or Medium provides an excellent opportunity to exhibit your work and reach a wider audience.

5. Sports- Don’t hesitate to mention any playing experience or achievements you’ve had. Additionally, highlight the importance of sports in fostering teamwork and its numerous health benefits. Familiarize yourself with famous sports personalities and the rules related to your favorite sports, as this demonstrates your enthusiasm and knowledge in the field. Understanding the origins and historical context of your favorite sport is the key.

6. Gardening- If gardening is your passion, it’s essential to be knowledgeable about different plant species, cultivation techniques, and the importance of planting trees. Understanding various soil types and having thorough knowledge about gardening practices demonstrates your dedication and expertise in the field.

7. Watching Movies/ Listening to Music- If you enjoy about watching movies or listening to music, you can share insights about your favorite films, actors, actresses, genres, and musicians. It’s also beneficial to be knowledgeable about acclaimed movies that have won Oscars or other awards. Sharing what you’ve learned from your favorite movies or music can provide valuable insight into your interests and tastes.

8. Photography- Many People take photography as their hobby. In that scenario, you must have knowledge regarding camera, lens, lighting, composition, editing and other related important things. There are many websites where you can showcase your photography and share a link with your recruiter.

9. Singing/Dancing/Art and Craft- Convince the interviewer how deeply you enjoy these and you have knowledge regarding techniques, expressions used for these. You can also upload the images of your handcrafts or your work to any online platform to showcase your work.

Here, I’ve listed 9 hobbies, but feel free to mention any other hobbies you have as well. The key is to be well-prepared to discuss them confidently.

Some individuals mention activities like sleeping, eating, watching TV serials, yoga, and exercise as hobbies. However, it’s advisable not to include these in your list when discussing hobbies with a recruiter.

While activities like sleeping, eating, watching TV serials, yoga, and exercise are important for our well-being, they typically don’t provide unique insights into our personalities or interests. Instead, it’s best to focus on hobbies that demonstrate your passions, skills, and personal growth, as these are more likely to leave a positive impression on the recruiter.

It’s important to focus on activities that truly reflect your interests, skills, and personal growth.

By highlighting hobbies that demonstrate passion and dedication, you can present yourself as a well-rounded candidate with diverse interests and valuable experiences.

If you have any queries related to hobbies and how you can prepare for it, you may ask in comments section or you can email me- datasciencejourney100@gmail.com

I can provide an one to one guidance on how you can showcase your hobby. Trust me it is important!!!! :)

If you are preparing to become a Data Scientist, here is the roadmap.

--

--

Rina Mondal

I have an 8 years of experience and I always enjoyed writing articles. If you appreciate my hard work, please follow me, then only I can continue my passion.