Map Function in Python

Rina Mondal
Apr 5, 2024

--

The map() function allows you to perform the same operation on each item in a collection (like a list) without having to write a loop. It returns a new map object that can be converted into a List or Tuple.

The map() function doesn’t change the data types of the elements in the iterable itself; rather, it creates a new iterable with the transformed values.

Here’s an example of using map() with different data types:

def square(x):
return x ** 2

numbers = [1, 2, 3, 4, 5]
squared_numbers = map(square, numbers)
print(list(squared_numbers))

# Output: [1, 4, 9, 16, 25]

--

--

Rina Mondal

I have an 8 years of experience and I always enjoyed writing articles. If you appreciate my hard work, please follow me, then only I can continue my passion.