The Journey: Prelude — 1

Dattaprasad Naik
3 min readAug 24, 2017

--

Img Src: https://blog.zeroinfy.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/success-is-a-journey.jpg

This is a series of Blogs / Personal stories I wish to share as I begin my Journey as a sole entrepreneur or freelancer.

Part 1: Purpose of the Blogs

Many times the success stories of individuals are only penned down after an individual achieves goals in one’s life which become an inspiration for many. A lot of these stories that come up are interpretations of that individuals lives as perceived by the writer. Or are written by memory and not in the moment as and how it actually happened

These blogs however will be a first hand account of an individual (me) who sees that his place in this world is not in a cubicle at any level of a corporate enterprise(at this point in life that is) , but will follow a calling of heart(spirit) and is willing to walk on paths untrodden to make it right in the eyes of “God” (yes i’m a believer, more on that some other time) and the steps I have to take and the choices I had to make, to “make it” from the start i.e. me writing blogs to someday these blogs inspiring a multitude who are willing to walk apart form the norms of society and in right standing with our Creator, keeping in mind that our lives are not defined from birth to death , but our actions resonate throughout an eternity.

Part 2. Embracing Destiny

Destiny, Fate, words thrown about whose true meaning is known only after one feels a sense of accomplishment.

In my life so far all 27 years of it, I, as many have felt that we are meant for something greater in life. In my early years, I was an excellent student one of the “toppers” when it came to school grades. But that dint make me happy as I got the grades for material rewards from my parents. Cool toys, board games etc. Things would have been simple had I not grown up.

A turn around point came in my life, when at the age of 15 we got our first desktop computer at home and as a teen being the action addict and rebel that I was I found solace in world of gaming, where you played the protagonist against hordes of enemies defending virtual worlds. The hours of studying got replaced with hours of winning battle after battle in a world that made you feel “you mattered”. My grades took a hit but somehow I always did enough studying to get through to engineering.

Part 3: The Career Choice

Img Src: http://bluorchid.in/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/career2.jpg

As true as stereotyping the Indians goes, my parents like the majority of Indian parents whose children are average enough (Note just borderline average is fine too, thanks to reservation, that was me back then) are sent to apply to an Engineering school boasting the prospect of “guaranteed” placements and inflated average salaries in some IT company or the other.

Coming from a lower middle-class family the prospect of getting a job of 25,000 Rupees per month( roughly 360$ ) seemed lucrative enough so I happily enrolled, thinking that my childhood love for robots would enable me to build some cool war-machines someday. Little did I know then how wrong I was…

To be continued in Prelude-2

--

--

Dattaprasad Naik

Free Lance Electronics Design and Embedded Firmware , Interests in Embedded systems , IoT and Industrial Automation, Natural Farming and Farm Automation