Meet Ksenia Sobchak.

Diego Rodz
2 min readNov 21, 2017

--

This article is directly inspired to the ABC News article “Meet ‘Russia’s Paris Hilton,’ who plans to take on Vladimir Putin” by Patrick Reevell. I read this article and decided to write about since I thought it was such an interesting article. Keep in my mind this article like most of my others is not objective and is not meant to be professional as these are just my opinions. Now onto the article.

Ksenia Sobchak, a liberal TV journalist and the daughter of Putin’s political mentor, Anatoly Sobchak has just announced she will run against the Russian president in the nearing elections next spring. Some people like the idea and some people don’t because they think it might be another “Kremlin Ploy”. Anatoly was a reformist mayor for Saint Petersburg, he got and helped Putin get into politics. He also played a key role leading the way for the ex-KGB spy’s path to the Kremlin. Anatoly and Putin where deemed so close that Ksenia is rumored to be Putin’s grandaughter. Ksenia announced her candidacy on the business newspaper, Vedomosti as well as a video posted on YouTube.

“I am going into the elections not just as a candidate but as a megaphone for all those who cannot become a candidate. I invite all political forces ready to use my run as a platform to convey their complaints against the present situation and to the authorities,” She wrote as part of her article on Vedomosti

The elections are due to be held in March. Putin hasn’t formally announced his candidacy, but is kinda expected to win without any difficulty ’cause you know he’s run for more than 2 decades and hasn’t lost. like. at all and with Sobchak running that might shake up his scenario. Ksenia is called Russia’s Paris Hilton mostly because she was an on-screen socialite, had her own tv show, posed for Playboy, and then had her own opposition TV station, TV Rain.

“I am going into the elections not just as a candidate but as a megaphone for all those who cannot become a candidate. I invite all political forces ready to use my run as a platform to convey their complaints against the present situation and to the authorities,

Her run throws a rock into the elections’ window. Many believe it was thrown by the Kremlin and so her announcement was criticized almost instantaneously as a “huge government ploy”.

Ksenia is probably smarter than she lets on and it’s working. Hopefully, Ksenia puts up a strong fight.

--

--

Diego Rodz

Umm, Hi. My name is Diego. I frickin' love eating, I love reading and writing, and I love geeking out to my favorite movies and tv shows!