THE LOST CITY OF BENIN

Nimat Daud
2 min readMar 23, 2018

--

As my service year in the ancient city of Benin is drawing to an end, I thought I’d write about a city that I have grown so used to. I have spent close to a year here and yet, the marvel of the city’s rich history evident even in the seamless blending of precolonial and post colonial structures is not lost on me.

While most people complain that they were born before their time, I often think that maybe I was born past mine. I think I would have thrived in precolonial Benin city with its mathematical layout and extraordinary bronze and ivory statues and most importantly, the simple and yet baroque lifestyle of its people.

Perhaps I'd have caught the noble King's eye. I'd have married him and bore his children- dozens of them I imagine. We'd have participated in all the festivals from the Igue to the Ohonomuimen. I'd have ruled at his side as a worthy and benevolent queen. I'd have been loved, feared and adored.

Or maybe I'd have been married to a simple farmer. We wouldn't have had much but we would have been happy;

Or maybe I'd have been a brave warrior, the first of my kind. I'd have been feared and respected. Songs would be sung and tales would be told of my extraordinary feats on the battle field. And when the invaders came - the whites- I'd have leapt into battle to cut them down right where they stood, willingly sacrificing my life for my land.

Walking along the streets of post colonial Benin I sometimes imagine that I am walking in step to the beats of ancient drums. I pass by statues and I know they are just bursting with stories to tell. But their lips remain immovable and their vast eyes give nothing away.

Benin: a city of secrets and statues

There is little left of it now. The walls four times larger and grander than that of the great walls of China, the picturesque streets, houses resplendent with ivory and bronze statues the city was known for.

All we have left to do is to keep the memories alive in our hearts and tell our children and our children's children about the mighty, medieval capital that was Benin.

Benin, may your memories live on forever...

--

--

Nimat Daud

Accountant by day, writer by night and tailor sometimes in between...