29 Things I Am Thankful for

This Veterans Day, I’d like to reflect on the people and events that have helped shape who I am today.

David Ahn
4 min readNov 11, 2015

When I was a little kid, I never quite understood what being born on Veterans Day meant. To adolescent me, it was the equivalent of being born on Columbus Day or another holiday where we still had to go to school — observed but not closed.

However, as I matured, the holiday began having a much deeper meaning… especially as I saw family, friends, and loved ones serve in the armed forces. They put their lives at risk and, unfortunately, some have paid the ultimate sacrifice in the service of our country and its citizens.

Today, as I turn 29, I wanted to give thanks and honor the people, events and things that I get to enjoy every day as a free man because of them.

Thank you:

  1. To all of the veterans who have served, are currently serving, and those who will continue to serve in the future.
  2. To my family and friends who have served in the US Army, Air Force, Marines, National Guard, and Navy. Oohrah, Hooah, and Hooyah to you!
  3. To my parents for having the patience to put up with me all these years.
  4. To my sister who has always been my rock of support.
  5. To my family members who took care of me, guided me, and were there for me in any way.
  6. To all my friends who have made a positive impact on my life and have stuck around through thick and thin.
  7. To Kyle, Tami, and the rest of the leadership team at SalesLoft for taking a chance on me.
  8. To my teammates at SalesLoft who exemplify our core values of being positive, supportive, self-starting, open, empathetic, and exceptional every single day.
  9. To my previous employers, colleagues, and mentors who have helped me grow both professionally and personally.
  10. To my teachers and professors that instilled in me the belief that I could do something great with my life.
  11. To all my connections that provide value without asking for anything in return.
  12. To the people I look up to and learn from every day, many of whom I will probably never have a chance to thank in person or send a personal message to.
  13. To the Good Samaritans who have helped me along the way.
  14. To the people who have pushed me forward and the people who have tried to hold me back.
  15. To anyone who uses their valuable time to read my content, comment, respond, or engage with it in some way.
  16. For allowing me to make it to 29 years of life with good health.
  17. For being able to eat, live, and sleep safely in the comfort of my home.
  18. For the luxuries of a working car, computer, and phone.
  19. For the simple pleasures.
  20. For the ability to make mistakes, over and over again, and not be crucified for them.
  21. For the many, many times I’ve fallen and been helped back on my feet.
  22. For the times I failed to do the right thing but learned the difference.
  23. For the access to information.
  24. For the ability to learn, be educated, be knowledgeable, and apply that knowledge as wisdom.
  25. For the chance to do what I love to do and be passionate about my career.
  26. For the good fortune of being saved every time I’ve met the face of death.
  27. For allowing me to have the freedom of choice.
  28. For family and friends.
  29. For the love and appreciation.

Thank you all.

The past year has not been easy for me; I moved back home with my parents, experienced startup failure, had nothing left except for the $16,000 of debt weighing on my shoulders, had to find a new job, and now commute 200–250 miles a week in brutal Atlanta traffic.

But at the end of the day, there’s always someone out there who has it worse; Someone whose business failed and they have to let employees and all their families down. Someone who doesn’t have parents to fall back on. Someone who can’t find a job. Someone who has to commute further or someone who doesn’t have a car to get to work.

My point is that I often take these things and the people in my life for granted, but today I have a lot to be thankful for — and I wanted to let you know just how much it means to me.

With love,

--

--