What A Challenge!

Dave Hicks
2 min readDec 3, 2018

--

So I thought I was making a great and manly move by posting my goals and my desires and then including a breakdown of how I would complete these desires. Whelp, turns out that I was either not ready or I was just not committed to the task. Now I need to look at this as a “challenge” and not as a ‘problem”.

Every one of those things I have listed in my old post are things that I do want, but now I need to review how much I want these things. Saying what you want in life is easy. Writing down the desire is the first start in completing the task. Now you need a commitment.

Weight loss goals will be off the chart in January. So will be the amount of gym memberships. In 2–3, maybe 4 weeks the gyms will once again be half or a even less full. It is easier for us to not create a good and positive habit than it is for us to just do what we are conditioned to do.

For me I need to focus on my (here we go, it is that buzzword, that dreaded word) Myyyy Why! This term might be the most overused term in the last ten years, BUT wait… Your Why is probably the most underacted upon term in the last decade. People will talk about their family, their kids, their God, helping the poor …. yawn-stretch… sigh. It boils down to this (and I am speaking to myself as well). IF you in fact love your kids or your wife so much that you want to change, then you will. IF your desire is to really spread the word of God, then you will. Want to be helping the poor, if your REAL desire is to do these things, you will.

I need to re-read this, I need to remember, my why….

--

--