FASD and Real-Life Scenario: Coping with Change

Perrinaybara74
1 min readJul 13, 2024

--

Example of FASD Impact:
When we ran out of the red twist ties that I use to package hundreds of items, we had to temporarily shift to green twist ties. This seemingly small change was momentous for me.

My mind started racing as I tried to figure out how to adjust to this new color. My heartbeat increased, and I struggled to focus properly, feeling overwhelmed by the change.

Example of an Understanding Supervisor:
my understanding supervisor anticipated how such a change would affect me. She approached me calmly and explained the situation ahead of time. Saying something similar to

“I know we usually use red twist ties, but we need to switch to green ones for a while. I understand this might be challenging, so let’s take it step by step.”

She rather calmly provided reassurance, suggesting I take a brief break to help me adjust. By acknowledging the difficulty and providing support, she helped bring me back to a state of calm and focus.

--

--

Perrinaybara74

Although I may be well spoken when writing, I am not the same in real life. FASD affects everything in my life and maybe I can share a bit here