Couch to Half Marathon

davey.mcglade
14 min readSep 25, 2016

--

My friend and colleague Peter Campbell has jested twice now that I should make an app that covers my journey from ‘Couch to Half Marathon’. I figured that instead I’d write a blog post that covered it instead; much quicker. Hopefully you’ll find this useful.

Disclaimer

I am not a certified trainer or nutritionist in any shape or form, but what I want to write below covers the approach I’ve personally undertaken from roughly the start of July. This has allowed me to run 3 Half Marathons between July to September 2016. I’d never run a Half Marathon before. In fact I’d never run 10km or even 5km (fully) before — the most I’d done physically was to play squash one or two times a week, badly.

Some context

I had become a chunky lad (93.5 kg=206 lbs=14 stone 10 lbs) and I struggled breathing while doing anything physical outside. I’m asthmatic, and on Christmas Eve 2014 I was in the docs surgery on a nebuliser as my breathing was that bad. Not a good place to be.

I’d put on a lot of weight after the passing of my father in April 2015 and this evidenced itself with me hiding — hiding my multiple chins with a beard, and my rather large stomach was hidden, I thought, with jumpers. I travel with work, so eating out or having drinks is another source of additional weight gain.

Sometimes there is a bit of pressure in my job as well, and it’s easy to reach for the comfort food after a particularly bad day or head out for beers. Anyway, it ended up with me getting quite heavy, as evidenced by the pic below.

November 2015 — hiding behind a beard and jumper. Godzilla was licking his lips at the expectant meal.

What prompted me to change?

Another friend and colleague Rory Hanratty mentioned that a few people had signed up to do Tough Mudder in London in September (2016), I figured why not, it looks like a bit of fun, whats to lose, apart from all sense of dignity and respect from your colleagues!

To be honest, I needed something to focus on, to keep me motivated. Tough Mudder, for those that don’t know, is 10–12 miles outdoor, muddy obstacle course, littered with crazy things you have to climb over, climb under, run through or swim through. It looked a lot of fun, but it also looked quite intimidating. I really needed to knuckle down and train if I had any chance of doing it.

Speaking of that, my motivation nearly left me before I began. Lots of much fitter people had signed up to do it and I suddenly felt that i’d be embarrassed if I didn’t finish, or worse, that I’d be a mess on the course and spoil their fun. It was only though some motivation from another friend and colleague, Kieran Barber that I decided to continue. With a renewed mindset I knew what I had to do… I needed to start running. I needed to tackle the hard things first.

How did I start?

Really, all you really need to begin with is a decent pair of running shoes and a t-shirt/shorts that you feel comfortable in. I got padded running rocks as well as my feet weren’t really used to pounding a pavement. With all the kit in place, I had to go find the hardest thing, which was the desire to keep going when the going gets hard.

I know that really sound cheesy, but its true. When you’re out running, on your own, with a big red face, shuffling by traffic with people watching you, you really question why you would ever put yourself through such a thing.

It’s not fun at all, but the interesting thing is that when I got home, I felt a sense of achievement that I had actually gone running when I said I would. Start small and build from that. When you get one run done and you’re feeling low on your next one, you can always look back and tell yourself ‘I’ve already done this before, I can do it again’. Small steps.

What have I learned or changed?

In no particular order, here are some things that I learned or changed:

  • 1 extra pound of weight = 4 extra pounds of pressure on your knees. My goal was therefore to lose weight as well as get better at running to quickly reduce impact forces on my legs. The other thing to bear in mind is that if you are heavier, then you are effectively running with a built-in backpack filled with weight. Don’t beat yourself up if you aren’t as fast as someone else, just keep thinking ‘I wonder how much faster I’ll be when I am X amount lighter’.
  • Because I travel with work and often stay in hotels, I swapped a main course at dinner for 2 small starters, or took myself off to somewhere like Wagamama where I could eat a number of smaller dishes. If I had a big meal, I would definitely eat far less the rest of the day; one big meal a day would be the limit. I tried to eat as much protein as possible, as being 41, I needed a bit of extra help to recover after longer runs.
  • Ages ago I undertook the 5:2 diet and found it to work really well, so I wanted to try that again. I would be careful doing this at the same time as heavy training, but what I did do was purposely have 2 days a week where I ate less. Maybe not as low as 600 calories, but certainly less than normal. It all counts.
  • I drastically reduced fizzy sugary drink intake and switched to sparkling water and peppermint tea. The peppermint tea smells nice and usually when you are hungry, you might just be thirsty. Stay hydrated. Also, pretty much cut out alcohol completely.
  • I started using Strava which is a free web/app based tracking tool to record my runs. I strongly believe that If you don’t measure, you can’t improve. The cool thing about this is that Strava records the route you run and the time taken. You can then re-run the same route later and measure your improvement against that same route. However, the killer feature is ‘kudos’, basically your friends can send you encouragement for completing a run or a cycle (or any form of exercise). I found this to be a great source of encouragement. Also, you can sign up for challenges as well, which are nice to complete.
  • I mixed up my exercise. My week typically contained a shorter, faster run (< 30 mins), a longer, slower run (>45–60 mins) and then something else. So, for example, that might be a 5km, a 10km and then some cycling to and from work. I’ve also thrown pushups and sit-ups/planks into the mix as well. It wasn’t always like that though, I started much, much smaller, with shorter runs, and walks as well. I wanted to build strength as well as the ability to run. With the pushups and planks, the goal was to hit 100, and try to go for as long as possible with the planks.

Any running tips in particular?

I hated running at the start. I mean that I 100% truthfully loathed it. I couldn’t breath properly and I was embarrassed running, but it has gotten much, much better, to the point that I really like it now. Here are some things I’ve learned:

  • Run in the early mornings. There are less people out and around, it’s quieter and you don’t have dog walkers (with leads) in your way. I personally run on an empty stomach as apparently it helps your body become more efficient in dealing with energy transformation. Also, I find that if I eat and run, my body is too busy trying to digest stuff anyway. Each to their own on this one though.
  • When I was trying to fully run a 5km, initially I would run-walk-run. This is a good way (I found) to approach it. Gradually increase the time you run, and decrease the time you walk until you have a point where you can run all the way. I mixed this up a bit, by trying to run slow going out and then coming back fast(er).
  • We are aiming to transform our bodies into leaner, more efficient machines. This is hard, but it can only be done through repetition. Get a routine in place and try and stick to it. Don’t beat yourself up if you miss a session though; you’re in this for the long term. I tried to do something every couple of days. If I did a big run, I left a few days off to recover.
  • I found a heart rate monitor was the single biggest accelerator for my training. When I was exercising, there were two realities. There was the reality were thought I was pushing too hard and needed to slow down, and then there was reality that the heart rate monitor showed me, where I wasn’t pushing hard enough! With the help of a good mate, Steven Limmer, I was able to look into heart rate zones and figure out a pace that enabled me to go for long periods of time without wrecking myself. This was key for me being able to go for longer and longer. I’d keep an eye on the heart rate, and if it was too high, I’d slow down, or if it was low, I’d push harder. I use a chest strap monitor as I found it to be much more accurate. Strava can display tracked heart rate as well. I’d review this at the end of my run as well.
  • One day, I set out to do a 5km and then I just kept going, like Forest Gump. I slowed my pace down just to see if I could hit 10km. You know what? It’s more attainable than you think. I came back very pleased after my first 10km run. On paper, not that long a run, but mentally, it was as if I’d broken some invisible barrier. I could do this running thing. I was a runner.
  • The same thing happened with the first 1/2 marathon (July 24th). Around the end of July, I set out for a run. This is pretty much week 4 of all the running I’d ever done. The weather was great, I felt great and I figured I’d just keep going to see how far I could go. I did 10km, I felt good. Then it became 12k, 13k, 14k before I knew it. Just one km at a time. I was at around 15km and realised that it was only another 6km for the 1/2 Marathon, I could keep going and maybe get it! Turned out that I did get there in the end, at 2hrs 16mins. I was very pleased because I had never run this far in my life. On hindsight, it was probably a bit silly to do so far, so soon, but the key thing is to listen to your body. If you feel any aches or pains, just slow down or stop completely. I ended up sitting in the bath for a good while after that run to ease out the aches, but itching to do it again!
  • Over the next couple of weeks I set out to improve on my 5km and 10km times. I started running with a colleague (Mr Steven Limmer take a bow) and I found this again to be a fantastic motivator. Steven is extremely fit, but took the time to run alongside me and explain training. Also, running with someone else is a distraction from the voices inside your head that tell you to stop as your wrecked! It takes the right kind of considerate person to do this with though, so pick wisely.
  • On the 13th August, I went out again to try a 1/2 Marathon, on purpose this time. I’d done it once, I could do it again. I had bought a running belt to bring along my phone, and some water as well. I find the arm-bands too distracting as you’re putting weight on just one arm — I like to try and stay balanced and the belt fits quite well around your waist. This time I came in at 2hrs 6mins. A 10min improvement, and the key for me this time was pacing. I kept at a 6km pace as much as I could as this wasn’t too taxing. I took water on board around every 5km mark as well. I was very pleased with this, and it made me sign up for the Belfast Half Marathon; sure why not!
Keeping the pacing at 6:00 per km, slow and steady like a big tortoise.
  • The one thing I’ve been trying to do on all my runs is to relax and enjoy them. I disappear into my head and start thinking through everything. Ideas I want to work on, problems to solve, that kinda thing. I just totally switch off and find that at the end of the run, I’ve a much clearer view of what I want to do. Some people listen to music (I did too, at the start), but now I just use the run to put my head in good order. I try to make sure I don’t lift my feet too high off the ground, but rather glide along, keeping my feet just off the ground. I also try to avoid bouncing up and down too high, and keeping my arms as low to my sides as possible, as I found that holding them up over 2hrs is pretty tiring. I basically try to conserve as much energy as possible, keep my breathing regular and my balance right.
  • I also now stretch, consistently. To date, I have been injured twice, whereby I have pulled a muscle in my calf (both of them). I am convinced this is because I was inconsistent in my stretching. I definitely do this now, both before and after my run, with a light warm up jog as well. I’ve read that inconsistent stretching is more likely to get you injured, so now I do it all the time.

The Official Belfast Half Marathon

Belfast 1/2 Marathon — less chins, no jumpers

On Sunday 18th Sept, I ran in the Belfast Half-Marathon and came in with a time of 1hr 56mins 16 seconds (Official time). I was running on my own and I have to admit I was pretty nervous about it.

The running was grand though as the excitement of the being in the crowd, and the accompanying adrenalin rush mostly carried me along. There’s actually parts of the race I can’t remember as I was totally fixated in maintaining a good pace, and staying relaxed! I’m delighted to have finished it for sure!

Another 10 mins off my time. Got all the Personal Records with that run.

The weight?

I’ve dropped a good bit in weight as well, from from 206lbs to around 84.0 kg=185 lbs=13 stone 3 lbs (as of Sept 20th) and I’d like to probably drop another few pounds as well, but I’m easy on it. I tend to weigh myself in the morning, once a day and then use the average for the week. This has turned out to be around 1-2 lbs a week coming off.

Fitbit Aria Scale — quite handy, but I take the fat% with a pinch of salt.

Tough Mudder — How’d it go?

On Saturday 24th September, I got up at 5am to get an uber (my first one ever) out to Gatwick to meet up with the rest of the guys. We then headed to the event which was about 10 mins away. There was definitely a mix of excitement and apprehension in the air. The day had finally come. What all the training had been for!

We got the car parked easily enough and went to register, whereby they asked for our blood types so the could write it on our necks with permanent marker. The apprehension increased somewhat.

Before we knew it, we were at the starting line, doing squats to warm up and hugging other contenders. The camaraderie between ‘Mudders was superb — such a friendly atmosphere and very welcoming.

Finally we got going, starting with a gentle forest run before we hit the obstacles. Over the next 3hrs 15mins, we gradually knocked off the miles, and the obstacles, and I have to say that it was a really, really enjoyable experience. This probably sounds nuts given that you put yourself though a really taxing obstacle course that leaves you scraped, bloody and knackered at the end of it.

The obstacles were a mixture of straightforward and hellish. I think most of us loved the mud-mile, where you really get caked in the stuff, and the blockness monster, where collaboration is key to getting over it. In fact, any of the team work obstacles rated highly with me (and I suspect the others too). Tough Mudder isn't a race; the goal is to finish it.

The electrocution obstacle I think was universally hated by all of us. I have these weird circular bruises up my arms that I suspect where caused by the stunning blows it dealt out. I really do mean stunning — a number of us just dropped when the wires hit; some blacked out. Not a pleasant experience at all.

Anyway, WE DID IT/I DID IT! Ten plus miles of forest, mud, ice-cold baths, swinging of 14ft platforms, more mud and banter, lots and lots of banter. No man was left behind (apart from Jay). The team work aspect was so much fun and I think most of use will go do it again. I know a few of us have already signed up for one in Ireland next year :-)

Unfortunately we were left down by a duff GoPro that had been hired; but hopefully we’ll get some decent photos from the event photographers. I’ll share here when I get them.

Been there and got the t-shirt! ScrumTeam Badass :-)

What next?

I’ve signed up to do the Tollymore 1/2 Marathon trail in November and a 80km cycling sportive as well which is now 6 days away. Hopefully all the parts of me that are currently aching (around 80%) will be back to normal by then.

I started cycling as I really like it, and there is a great freedom involved in getting out on the bike for a few hours. It mixes up the training aspect as well. Saying that, it does take a while to get used to the lycra and the clip-in pedals. Also, importantly, there are a load of people that also do it that can offer the motivation and encouragement that I find really helpful.

The main thing is that I want to try and do at least one ‘proper’ event a month, as I find that will keep me motivated. My ultimate goal would be do do a Marathon and then an Ultra-Marathon. Lets see if I get there!

Best of luck on your own journey. Small changes can make a massive difference.

--

--

davey.mcglade

Head of Digital, UK @ Version 1 covering cyber, technology and digital transformation. Twitter as @daveymcglade. Views are my own.