Throwing away my Morning Pages

Because what else should I do with them?

David Trejo Garcia
3 min readJun 28, 2024
A notebook with a daily entry and two pens.
Soon to be disposed. I’m not sponsored by Muji, although I wish I was. | Picture by author.

I was immediately sold on the premise of morning pages. The thought of waking up before the rest of the world to do a little writing and a little thinking seemed appealing to me (should I be worried about that?). Also, I was curious to see what my morning self had to say, as opposed to my middle-of-the-day self.

I must admit that I haven’t read the book that popularized morning pages yet, but it’s on my reading list. Instead, I followed the instructions that I had seen in some videos, particularly this one:

I decided to write four A6 pages every day, which is about 500 to 600 words with my handwriting. What I got from the videos is that morning pages are supposed to reflect your stream of consciousness. I tried my best to not give them any structure, any theme, or to turn them into drafts or to-do lists. With that in mind, I became very comfortable with simple writing what was on my mind after waking up.

I followed most of the recommendations, but there was one thing that I couldn’t…

--

--

David Trejo Garcia

I write to be better at writing; mostly about notetaking, science and life abroad.