A letter of thanks to Apple, from a grateful dad

davidahouse
2 min readApr 30, 2016

--

Earlier this evening I got a call from my son, I could hear voices in the background so I just thought he had butt dialed me. I called back, planning to ask my son what his butt wanted. No answer. Strange.

A few minutes later he called again. He couldn’t hear me, but I could hear him. He said “I’m not sure if you can hear me, but I’m at Kennestone Hospital ER”. He repeated that several times and eventually the call ended. I called the ER and eventually found out he was in a car accident, but he was OK, getting stitches. Of course me and the wife got our stuff and headed to the hospital. He sounded OK on the phone, so I knew it wasn’t TOO bad.

We got to the hospital to find him with 10+ stitches in his face. He looked pretty bad, but was OK. Then he gave us the rest of the story.

His phone was smashed. The screen wasn’t even attached to the iPhone.

It still worked.

Somewhat.

When he was at the hospital, he couldn’t remember my phone number, or anyones number really. He was trying to figure how how to contact someone… anyone.

He grabbed the phone with no screen, then he pressed the home button. He felt it try to vibrate and just said “Call Dad”. After what seemed like minutes, he heard “Calling Dad”. Siri never sounded so good. That is the call I got where I could hear him. Siri worked. The iPhone microphone worked. Amazing.

Thank you Apple for an amazing product that every once in a while surprises you and enriches our life. From a dad, I’m very thankful that phone still worked to make its last call to me. Thanks to all my friends who work at Apple as well. Your hard work is appreciated.

--

--