Hamburger Bahnhof

David Adkins
2 min readJun 20, 2024

--

Today we got to see the Nationalgalerie der Gegenwart in the Hamburger Bahnhof.

I really enjoyed this museum, with some of the modern pieces giving a visceral feel.

Immediately my attention was caught by the unconventional instruments, made out of veldt and strings. I played with them until I got a blister on my dominant hand.

There was also an exhibit dedicated to Joseph Beuys, that seemed to have a philosophical theory that everyone through their moment to moment performativity is to some extent an artist. I think I would like to know more about his art and philosophy

Something that also caught my attention were the short films. There was one where a woman carried strange creaturs as she ran through the streets of Berlin.

There was another that featured only sound design, and texts projected onto two walls. The colors of the projection and frequency of the background drone would shift as the murder interrogation grew more intense.

--

--