Can We Put the Genie Back in the Bottle?

3 wishes for the live-action Aladdin

David Caracciolo
3 min readFeb 12, 2019

After complaining that we never got to see the genie in the teaser, the genie’s finally out of the bottle in this special look…

As they say, be careful what you wish for.

The video currently has more dislikes than likes. Yikes! Now that I’ve seen it, here are 3 wishes I hope will come true by the time this film hits cinemas.

1. Drop Jafar’s Balls

Why does Jafar sound like he hasn’t hit puberty yet?

Credit: Disney

If I was Jafar and got my hands on a magic lamp… I’d wish for my balls to drop!!! This guy sounds like a food critic sending his food back. Yuck!

Is there still time to redub the voice?

It doesn’t sound sinister enough. It needs to be manlier too. I’m sorry, but if I was Jafar, I’d let the parrot do the talking…

Credit: Disney

2. Show More Skin

Anyone who’s dressed up as Aladdin or Jasmine for a fancy dress party knows that the costumes show flesh…

Credit: Scott Suchman

Aladdin is famously barechested and Jasmine’s rocking a midriff. So why on Earth would they cover these good looking people up?

It makes no sense!!!

Perhaps they felt it would play better for Middle Eastern audiences who tend to be more conservative. If that’s the case, why’s the genie topless???

Speaking of…

3. Polish the Genie

I wish that this is just unfinished CGI…

Credit: Disney

The genie looks bad, and not in a good way. Pathetic! He looks like the love child of a Smurf and the Scorpion King!!!

Credit: Universal Pictures

A notorious example of bad CGI and Will Smith’s genie may end up being another.

The head doesn’t match the body. He looks like he’s made out of blue Play-Doh instead of a more translucent vibe I was expecting.

Disney set the bar with Thanos, this looks like they’re going backwards…

Is there still time to put the genie in the bottle and polish up his CGI?

I hope so because chances are I’ll still be watching this when it comes out in theatres this May.

What do you think of the trailer? Let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for reading, for another trailer reaction…

--

--

David Caracciolo

I like big PUNS and I can not lie. You other writers can't deny