The Freelance Writing Formula (and why you’re almost certainly not charging enough)

David Congreave
11 min readAug 30, 2018

I’ve got no intention of being coy here. In this article I’ll tell you EXACTLY how much I charge, how I’ve calculated these fees, and why this formula has kept my freelance writing business running for 12 years.

I’m going to be explicit because, frankly, I’m tired of seeing job boards offer writing jobs that pay peanuts and I’m tired of seeing writers undervalue their talents.

The whole freelance writing market is a bit of a mess, and it’s all because…

Supply and Demand Doesn’t Exist Here

When a lot of people want or need something that isn’t plentiful, the price goes up. That’s why if you have a rare skill that a lot of people need, you can charge more. It’s why window cleaners generally charge less than plumbers.

So, in theory, if you’re an excellent writer with an easy style, good attention to detail and a strong work ethic, you should be drowning in clients and cash.

I only managed one article last week but the client paid in cash, so…

But you’re probably not. And it isn’t because there are hordes of amazing writers out there driving prices down. It’s because…

· There are about a billion (I counted them) freelance writers online.

--

--

David Congreave

Freelance writer since 2006. Carer since 2006. Husband since 2002. Leeds United fan since 1992. Human being since 1978. (www.davidcongreave.com)