Caught Between a Baseball and a Hard Place 

David Clark Jr.
3 min readMay 27, 2014

--

I was put in a particularly shitty position over the last few weeks. In the last couple months, my baseball team has been in high gear to get a regional championship title, and we were jamming. We made playoffs, and were battling to win 4 straight games to get that dogpile up on the pitcher’s mound, and a big-ass trophy. With one win down, we caught wind that our game was scheduled on the following Saturday in Monterey. Well, shit.

Saturday was Prom. Not mine, but my girlfriend’s senior prom. With the game, over an hour away, scheduled for 2 pm, and pictures and festivities beginning at 4 pm, it was impossible for me to make both entirely. I was on my own, and it sucked.

Now, it’s hard to say what I should’ve done. I had on my hands, the biggest game of my baseball career so far, playing the first place team in our playoffs, and that was it. If we lose, we’re done, that’s game over for us. Season over, no more chances. On the other hand, I had the girl that I love’s prom, something that I know means so much to her. We've both invested hundreds of dollars on our clothes and our tickets, and after this dance, she moves 400 miles away to San Diego. If there’s one way for us to end this year on a bang, it’s that night.

And I know what you’re thinking, I could’ve done both. Well, no actually. Even if I left Monterey right after the game was over around 4:30, it would still be two hours or more in memorial day traffic on the 101, leaving me with a smelly, wrinkled tux and a livid date. Logistically, it just couldn't work, it came down to dance or game.

Most people I talked to had conflicting views, but they understood how difficult of a situation I was in. Most athletes and coaches will shun me for wanting to make a stupid high school dance in place of a game, but most students would tell me that I’ve already spent a lot of money, I might as well go to the dance.

But the money didn't matter. The importance of the game didn't matter, not even what I should do mattered. In the end, what mattered was what was right for the people around me and for who I cared for most. My team is like my family, and this championship meant the world to me, but I couldn’t let the girl I love most down on a night that is supposed to be hers. Ultimately, the sacrifice wouldn’t have been mine, it would’ve been hers.

I chose to skip out on the game, and go to Prom.

If there’s one thing that the game of baseball has taught me, it’s that baseball is a game of failure. You will fail, over and over again, but after so much failure, you will find success.

It’s a theme that life constantly reiterates. It’s those who overcome that adversity, and roll with the punches who will eventually learn the ropes and make the right plays who will find success in the decisions they make. Those players have the most character.

My choice came with consequences, however. I got a lot of hell on my head, and an angry coaching staff means a lot of conditioning, disappointment, and a lot less playing time.

But I don’t regret it. Prom rocked, and I had a beautiful date to enjoy it with. We had a great night, but more importantly, she was happy. It was worth it.

And we won. Semi-Finals, here we come.

Unlisted

--

--