CS373 Fall 2021: Blog #3

David He
2 min readSep 12, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

For this course, I have been focusing on perfecting my code for project one. I have been following the workflow provided by professor Downing and making my way through implementing, optimizing, and testing my code for Collatz. I also got the new MacBook so I have been setting it up for development. It took me a while to set up the environment correctly because I seldomly work on Macs, but once it’s set up, it will be much simpler than working on windows.

Another course that has been occupying me was Data management. I never took any data courses and I am rather new to SQL. My first assignment has a lot to do with writing queries so I have to spend some time learning the language before I could start working. It is not a difficult language but it is different from all the other languages I have studied. Perhaps I should have taken the data mining course beforehand.

What’s in your way?

I do not have many obstacles in my way. The only issue is that the number of assignments piling up could be kind of stressful. I have 3 more assignments due before Tuesday excluding this blog.

What will you do next week?

On Sunday, I plan to have my project completed and ready to bring some last-minute questions to office hours on Monday. Next week, I have a data management lab due on Tuesday so I will be working on that as well.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #3: Continuos Integration?

I have not completed reading the entire paper yet but I had some previous exposure to CI during my internship. I think it will be interesting to refresh my memory on the subject and apply it to a school project for the first time.

What was your experience of IsPrime and Collatz optimizations? (this question will vary, week to week)

The optimization with Collatz was really straightforward. It was a simple DP problem. Implementing a dictionary for memoization will pass all three test cases. The optimization for isPrime is a little more interesting to ponder.

What made you happy this week?

Short Apple.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2021-09-10/stripe-is-said-to-discuss-public-listing-with-bankers-for-2022

Consider applying ASAP!

--

--