CS373 Fall 2021: Blog #6

David He
2 min readOct 4, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I have spent most of my time working on the project.

On Monday, we divided our tasks for each team member so that everyone know what they need to work on for the rest of the week. Since I came up with the project idea, I needed to gather a lot of information for the API, design, and model attributes. There are rather few API I could use for our project so I spent a lot of time validating and testing the limitations of the APIs. Furthermore, Postman implemented some limitations on the number of team members you can have in a shared workspace, I had to test out the GitLab API and other APIs on my own. Then I will share my finding and step-by-step instructions on how to implement them onto the required web pages. Another task I was working on is the technical report. I think our group is on a good track to finish the task before the deadline and everyone made great contributions to the project.

What’s in your way?

The only thing in my way now is the user stories. I have only received two user stories from our customer team. I need to have these things ready to be published by tonight but I think this might be a problem since this task is dependent on someone outside of our team’s jurisdiction.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will be setting up the database and supplemental data that will populate help us populate our database through the APIs I gathered.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #6: Single Responsibility Principle?

I think SRP is a very interesting concept but it does not seem very intuitive for someone without at least a few years of experience in the industry. I think the concept of distinguishing “reasons to change” can be very hard to grasp.

What was your experience of factorial, reduce, and operators? (this question will vary, week to week)

I believe the exercises we did this week are very simple and easy to comprehend. I hope future exercises can be equally straightforward!

What made you happy this week?

Having a working webpage and Working with an awesome team!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I have been looking at this page for the past week so that I can learn how to work with APIs on python. I think this will be useful for every team.

--

--