South Platte River a retreat for homeless people

David Heitz
4 min readDec 25, 2023
The South Platte River. Library of Congress

For years, people experiencing homelessness have been camping along the South Platte River in Denver. That included myself during a period in 2019 when I was experiencing homelessness.

The Platte River is a natural place for certain types of homeless people to go. It is quiet along the river and most people who camp along it aren’t looking for any trouble.

Most, but not all. A person was murdered at an encampment along the Platte River in Englewood.

Still, living along the Platte River is dangerous. Wildlife is abundant. I saw rat infestations on areas of the bluffs where old campsites had been abandoned. I once caught a family of raccoons staring at me as they all congregated in a nearby sewer pipe.

One morning I saw a porcupine. Once a snowy white owl swooped down over my head while I was walking along the river path. That was cool though.

I swear I even saw a black bear cub once, but that probably was sleep deprivation.

The Platte River also is a dangerous place to sleep along due to flash flooding. I once fell asleep next to some rapids right off the bike path. I fell asleep on a red ant hill and woke the next morning in severe pain.

--

--

David Heitz

I have been in the news business 35 years. I write about homelessness, mental health, and cannabis. I've lived in a penthouse and also experienced homelessness.