You know who looks like a stripper? Your stepmom.

David Hooper
2 min readOct 26, 2017

--

“I’m not racist, but…”

I used to hear that all the time when I lived in Mississippi. And it was always followed by something that sounded racist.

Last week, after Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson called out Donald Trump for being insensitive, I made a joke on Facebook about the way she dresses.

Frederica and charlie wilson

I didn’t think much of it. I’m a fan of both Congresswoman Wilson and Charlie Wilson.

But it didn’t come off that way… And I felt even worse when a similar joke Donald Trump Jr. made last year started getting attention…

Donald Trump Jr Tweet

Fortunately for me, the people who responded to my joke were a lot kinder than the people who responded to his…

FLOTUS Melania
FLOTUS Melania

Risk comes with any communication. And sometimes you’re going to step over the line of what’s appropriate, even when you don’t mean to.

And sometimes, you’re going to agitate the people whom you’re trying to connect with.

What then?

Explain yourself and move on. If your message reaches enough people, you’re going to piss somebody off regardless of what you say, but when you make a mistake and know you’re wrong, don’t go down with a sinking ship because you’re too proud to admit it publicly.

--

--

David Hooper

Media marketing Expert, Author, and Host of Build A Big Podcast