Google Play Account Termination on a New Account.

David Odari
2 min readJul 20, 2019

--

On June 27th I received an email from the Google Play Support team that my account has been terminated due to prior violations by my account or “associated” accounts.

Account Termination

Being a new account bought on May the 27th and having hosted no apps yet, I was confused and quite pissed at the same time for the following reasons;

  1. They talk of prior violations which could not have been possible given that the account is new and has not hosted any apps.
  2. They talk of associated accounts and this being my first account there's no way this could have been the reason.

Appeal

This being the case I decided to appeal on the same day, May 27th, for the account restoration stating these reasons in their template form and less than 300 words to explain it all and an email was sent stating that they will respond within 72 hours.

Appeal

Appeal Response

After sending my appeal the response I received states that my account has an “association” to another account with no clear information to which account I am being associated with.

I tried re-appealing a couple of times but got no response from the team and tried to think of where this association could have come from and it was then clear that the credit card I used to purchase my account, since mine at the moment of purchase had already expired, had also purchased a Play Store account earlier belonging to a friend and their account had been flagged for violations.

I was now being crossed off due to another person's violations, I tried to explain this in my recurring emails since I have no association to the account purchased earlier or ever worked with it.

Currently, my account is still under termination and hopefully, I get in contact to an actual Play Store Team staff and get help restoring my account because this means if I purchase accounts for developers and one of them violates policies everyone else will suffer because of that one individual.

--

--

David Odari

Google Developer Expert - Android || Software Engineer || Sometimes a DJ and whoever I need to be in that moment.