David Kuoi’s vision board 2023

David Kuo
2 min readJan 2, 2023

--

What is a Vision Board?

According to Wikipedia,

"A dream board or vision board is a collage of images, pictures, and affirmations of one’s dreams and desires, designed to serve as a source of inspiration and motivation.[1] The usefulness of vision boards has been endorsed by celebrities such as Oprah Winfrey,[2][3][4] Steve Harvey,[5] and John Pierre.[6] The author Octavia E. Butler wrote prose affirmations into her notebook, in what is seen by some as a prototype of the modern vision board.[7][8] However, there is some evidence that vision boards may be counterproductive, since continually fantasizing about success can lead to taking fewer actions to realizing it. Thus, an “action board” is sometimes viewed as a better alternative[9][10] or accompaniment."

My creation journey

Why am I doing one?

I have heard many great things about using a vision board, which can serve as a communication or meditation tool to align yourself throughout the entire year with the desired state where you want to be in the 12 months.

How did I create one?

During my creation process, I spent about 1-hour time reflecting on my goals and life purpose. I use Canva with a template I found and quickly search for images, sentences, and places I feel strongly connected with.

My take on it

if you are looking for a systematic framework to kick-start your new year and are new to “Vision Board” like me, why not try it?

It is a great way to communicate with your inner self with visual and short writing and empower yourself to make a powerful decision. Especially at the end of the 1st draft, putting all your inspiration, dream, place you want to go, and things you want to see happening on a simple sheet of paper really makes you think hard about the possible pathway, which can lead to the realization.

Here is my Vision Board 2023

--

--

David Kuo

startup mentor and educator on startup and innovation. co-founder of iiiNNO and facilitator of Startup Weekend