A Letter To Myself

David L. Kennedy
2 min readOct 27, 2017

--

Dear Me,

I know you wont get this letter for some time, but I wanted to be proactive and write you now, while life is still fresh.

Though I don’t know you that well, you know me a lot better than you probably wish you did. That being the case, allow me the courtesy of extending you this apologetic.

Everything I do is done with you in mind. Or, at least, that’s what I tell myself. I’m sure that, to you, most of my decisions must seem selfish, and I can’t honestly say that they aren’t, as much as I would like to. That is the purpose for this letter; written with hopes that you will read it and much of its contents will be inconsequential simply by it having been written.

So, here it goes.

You are me. Or, at least, you are what I will become. I would suspect that your gray hairs have multiplied, you are probably married, hopefully happily, and perhaps have children of your own.

To that I say, congratulations. It’s about time.

Though the gray may be a bit off putting, I know that marriage, and family, are things you’ve wanted for some time. How do I know this?

Because I’m you. C’mon, Dave, keep up.

The reason I’m writing you this letter is because I recognize everyday just how much of an impact on you every decision I make has; and, having 20/20 vision on all of my current, and past, decisions, I feel compelled to address them.

I know that you likely look back on my time and see these decisions for what they are, mistakes, triumphs, or otherwise, but it is important to me that you know that “past you” is doing what I can to make your life easier.

So, let me say this: I’m sorry for all the choices I make now that you ultimately have to suffer for. We’re in this together. And for all those that pan out, well, were in those together too.

What I’m trying to say, Dave, is don’t get so caught up in my choices that you fail to make your own.

I’m learning that the hard way. If you think this letter is odd, imagine the one I received from us at ten. He still believe’s that tighty-whities and a bath towel are an adequate substitution for red, blue, and a big “S” on your chest.

I hope that someday you forgive my ignorance, and are proud of all we accomplish together. Until that day, just know that I’m doing my best.

Oh, by the way, kiss the wife for me.

Sincerely,

Past You

--

--