David Mayowa
2 min readJan 16, 2023

Hi world,

I ate the most amazing Singaporean noodles and smoked turkey sauce for dinner, a recipe from Sisi Yemmie’s YouTube channel

As I microwaved my second serving, I got to thinking. A Eureka moment spurred on by my tastebuds’ satisfaction

In my first year 1 of uni, I remember making this beans porridge that in hindsight was as terrible as my roommates then claimed. As they laughed at me, I remember thinking that there’s a time for everything. As I stewed over how hurt I was by their comments, I consoled myself by thinking that in the worst case scenario, I’ll enrol in a cooking class before I get married (this was when I thought I needed to cook well in “my husband house”). LOL. I was barely 15 years old so you’ll have to forgive me.

But 15-year old me was spot on about times and seasons though. For the most part of my undergrad, I focused on my studies over developing culinary skills. I mean, I wasn’t there to be a chef, innit? I remember a time in year 2–3 that I couldn’t fry plantains, I’d always come out with burnt offerings. By part 4, I was comfortable in my grades and so I cooked more and got better.

Now, I make amazing meals. I’m able to easily follow recipes off the Internet, balance flavours and come out with something good.

I’ve written this as a reminder. Joy, be kind and patient with yourself. You don’t have to get everything right at the get go. Trust in the process and most importantly, in your ability to figure things out.

In the spirit of killing the spirit of procrastination in hopes of perfection , I’ll be posting this with little to no edits. Been thinking of starting a newsletter for a while but I’ll post this on this medium now until I get things set up.

Till we talk again.

Joy, your favourite storyteller.

David Mayowa

DMJ Thoughts, Ideas, Learnings, and Ramblings. Product Management | Self Development | Youth Entrepreneurship