Adding a new feature to Tikkie app

Tikkie is a helpful app to send payment requests via WhatsApp. In this article I will show you some new features that could improve the user experience.

David Morales
3 min readMar 13, 2020
Source

Stakeholder pain points

As the main objective this week it was to train our UI skills the whole Design Thinking Process was faster and shorter. This process started with an interview trying to understand my stakeholder (and dear classmate Bart Weber) pain points and the context when he uses the app. After our first meeting I could identify the JTBD and the main pain points:

JTBD:

  • The main JTBD is to facilitate the process of paying a shared bill.
  • The functional aspect is to let your friends know how much money they owe you.
  • The emotional/personal job is to be sure that you got back the money that you paid for them.
  • The emotional/social job is to enjoy the moment without having to worry about the bill.

Pain points:

  • Not having an organized payment page
  • Not knowing what is paid and what is pending
  • No option to delete all paid tikkies at once
Tikkie screenshots

Prototyping

“Fail early to succeed sooner.” (Tim Brown)

After thinking about possible solutions, I designed the userflow and did a paper low-fi prototype (the previous week I learned that it is better to fail and change a low-fi paper prototype than a structured mid-fi sketch file).

Low-fi prototype (and little molecules and organisms that allowed me to play a bit)

After testing it, I did some changes: I removed the percentage showing the process of getting a tikkie payment completed and also the navigation top bar. The final improvements were:

  • I decided to avoid the percentage and make clear the previous information “2 out of 2 completed”, it wasn’t clear what was completed ( tikkie received, paid, sent?). Finally, it was changed by “2 out of 2 paid”.
  • I changed the top bar from “Overview” by two buttons “Paid” and “Pending”. This solved the problem of unorganized payment page and made a clear differentiation between paid and unpaid tikkies.

Here you can check the final hi-fi version:

Learnings

Just 4 weeks passed and I can’t believe how much I learned and improved. During this week in our first UI module challenge I learned:

  • To be organized and keep my design clean creating symbols, icons and renaming layers from the very beginning.
  • That simple and minimalistic design requires a lot of thinking in order to find a simple solution keeping previous elements.

Thanks for reading this and follow me through this exciting journey.

--

--

David Morales

UX Designer with experience at digital startups, and tech companies in areas such as real estate, crypto trading, and digital insurance.