This says it all.

Don’t Like Your Life? Change it!

Don’t be afraid of change. Embrace it.

Dr. David Martin
Published in
5 min readDec 27, 2019

--

I’ll be honest. Brutally honest. I get irritated, really irritated with the whiners.

I’m sure you’ve run into this animal in the workplace. That’s where I encounter them the most.

You know that beast. That person who never seems to be satisfied with anything. Especially work. There’s always something wrong with what they have to do. They’ve been given the wrong task; they’re not skilled enough, they have too much to do and not of time, and on and on. Yeah. Blah, blah, blah.

I don’t mean to sound snarky (OK, maybe a little snarky). But let’s be honest. These people grind us all down. I’m not talking about the person who occasionally complains about having too much to do. I think we all can relate to that sometime during our work lives — and some of us more than others. I’m talking about that person who just never seems to be satisfied with anything in their life.

Why does it irritate me so much? Because life is about change. Change happens. It’s part of who we are as humans. And we have but two choices; to either whine and complain about it, or embrace it and make it our friend.

I’ve been through many career changes throughout my life. I made a significant change when I graduated from high school…

--

--

Dr. David Martin

I write about leadership, tech, education, current affairs and life in general from Seoul, South Korea (poetry, too!). Email me at davidpmartin@mediumauthor.com