How I Changed My Life After Attending Gorilla Mindset Seminar

David Rachford
4 min readAug 17, 2017

--

On July 15, 2017, I attended Mike Cernovich’s Gorrilla Mindset Seminar in Los Angeles.

Before the seminar, I read Gorilla Mindset twice. The first time I read it quickly, nodding my head realizing this book is to be worked, not just read. The second time I read it, I invested time to do the suggested exercises included in each chapter. So I wasn’t cold to the content I expected to be exposed to. However, experiencing the content live gives the material a different level of impact.

So when Mike Cernovich announced on Twitter he was going to do a seminar in Los Angeles, I wanted to see how he put it together. And maybe I’d make some new friends that are committed to personal growth.

Mindset of Openness, Opportunity and Abundance

We live in an amazing time. What we once thought of as a phone, a way to connect to another person, is now a device capable of connecting to the world. This small hand-held device is a window for the entire world to see me, and or for me to broadcast to the world.

Mindset is not fixed. Or, it doesn’t have to be. Mindset elements are inter-connected.

Graphic from Mike Cernovich via YouTube (Red arrows are mine)

Align habits with vision

Gorilla Mindset in a nutshell is choosing power and action. Actions are the daily things we choose to do. Power is your paradigm or way of being, believing its possible and worth a try.

If you want to create a platform online, you need to do daily work that will build it from the foundation up. That means creating content, writing on my blog, doing videos, Periscopes, podcasts, etc. I had fallen off the content wagon. Hard.

A content creating mindset is simply committing to and making time to do the work. Habits get built by triggering events. So for me, since I want to create more content, I simply need to commit times in my day to producing it and working on it. Simple. Wake up 30 minutes earlier, and commit a period during the morning to produce work.

Right after the seminar, I challenged myself to create more content by going live on Periscope every day for 12 days. Just to get over being “perfect” and to practice doing video. When I started, I had 16 followers on Periscope, and maybe 500 ❤’s. Two weeks later, I was at 58 followers and 6,000+❤’s… I also felt more comfortable and confident going live.

I’ve also been more active on Twitter, and my profile saw a big jump in activity from June to July…

Twitter stats June 2017
Twitter stats July

Another change I made was rejoining the gym. Part of my vision is being healthy and fit, and due to an injury, poor nutrition choices and too much beer, I got fat.

I just had my annual physical. So my health was clear. My injury healed. I had my Testosterone levels checked. (Note: if you’re over 40 and don’t know your T levels, get them checked and follow Jay Campbell.) My only excuse for being fat and out of shape was laziness and bad choices.

I replaced lazy morning habits of reading and social media with 5:00 am gym for lifting. I replaced my lunch of reading with a 3–4 mile walk. (Follow me on Strava here.) I tightened up my nutrition and started tracking macros again via MyFitnessPal. I’m documenting my journey, so go ahead and follow my food journal.

~ 5 pounds down on the scale, but also increased lean body mass + 3 lbs, shoulders / arms showing gainz.

So there you have it… while there’s a lot more to Gorilla Mindset that is worth covering, these are the big ones for me.

Create your vision (your ideal day) and align your habits to that vision.

You can catch the full Gorilla Mindset seminar on YouTube here. And while it’s a great resource, a live experience is well worth the investment. Be sure to follow Mike on Twitter to see announcements for upcoming seminars and events, and or watch his blog over at Danger and Play.

--

--

David Rachford

aka “Navy Dave” — Yoga Teacher & Athlete — YouTuber — “YogawithNavyDave” www.DavidRachford.com