What I learned from HubSpot Academy’s Inbound Course Part 1

David Ton
3 min readMar 8, 2020

--

Recently I finished with the Inbound course and received my certification on HubSpot. To those who don’t know me, I graduated from San Jose State University with a degree in Business Marketing, but with that said as many could imagine, having a degree and real-world experience are two different things. I took this course as a way to understand and to have a better grasp of what is to come as I continue my job hunt and thought it would be fun to talk about some of the concepts I thought were interesting taking this course. There are a total of 6 chapters that I will be breaking down into 2 parts.

Understanding the Fundamentals of Inbound

I’ll be honest, when I started the Inbound course, my original assumption was that it would be similar to the general stereotype of sales. the idea that everything you do is for your benefit and being very cutthroat in the business.

Surprisingly enough, right from the beginning, HubSpot turns that presumption on its head by stating that Inbound is a business philosophy based around helping people. Where your main goal is to attract, engage, and delight your customers.

Growing Your Business With a Flywheel Model

Going into the second chapter of the HubSpot course I was introduced to the idea of the Flywheel Model. A Flywheel, for those who don’t know, is a machine that stores rotational energy, but in this course, it’s used as a visual aid as a way to represent how to drive company growth. There are two different methods you could use for sales being the Flywheel and the Funnel concept. The Flywheel represents the company as a whole while the Funnel shows the different processes within the company.

Creating a Company Purpose

When using the Inbound concept, your company needs a purpose, a mission that the company was created to fulfill. Soon I was introduced to the Golden Circle, a concept where instead of figuring out what your company does, you start with why you do it.

from there you open up to how that goal is made and what the company does to achieve it. In a video with Simon Sinek, the author of Start with Why he breaks down how Apple uses the Golden Circle to keep themselves above the competition. Apple’s why is that they believe in challenging the status quo, in thinking differently. How and what they do this is creating and designing beautiful computers.

Next, I will be going onto Part 2 to talk about the last 3 chapter that goes more in-depth on Business Goals, Buyers Persona, and the Buyers Journey.

--

--

David Ton

A recent Marketing Grad who loves to create conversation 😄