Running Rust executable app in IIS

David Whitaker
5 min readNov 20, 2019

This is more or less the same for Go and the like where the binary(“exe”) can listen to on a given port. That and I want to thank Sutean for his post similar to well this one; however, I wanted to dig in a little further into the application pool explanation and provide some additional insight for those that only have to setup IIS every blue moon having my own documented. Further I’m going to be extremely basic so something that seems straight forward will be included. I also used Actix web for my server, but again this could be any framework where the executable can listen on a port.

Let’s create Rust App:

Then “cargo build — release”

Yes, there are several ways to make something basic I have more complex examples of app config if you have questions feel free to ask. Also be careful with debug logs as I’ve included above this can eat up space quick. So we have our exe let’s move on to the server.

So on the server I copied my little executable from our release build above to a folder in the directory pictured below. We will go into the web.config file below but for now this could just be an empty web.config file.

--

--