How I Hooked My Kids on Broccoli and Cauliflower

David Steinman
1 min readNov 26, 2022

My kids never liked the look of broccoli or cauliflower, especially when I would bring them home from the supermarket.
🥦🥦
One day though I put together the broccoli and cauliflower love potion you can use with your kids, especially if you’re a single parent without much time for home cooking.
🥦🥦
I bought a bag of organic broccoli and cauliflower florets and put them into old no-PFAS pans. I used liberal amounts of organic olive oil (Simple Truth is one of my favorites) with a PFAS-free silicone basting brush and plenty of freshly cut garden spices: trailing rosemary, potted oregano, wild sage, patio parsley, and socety garlic. The combination of lipids in the oil, spices, and the phytonutrients in the veggies makes their vitamins and antioxidants more body soluble. I roast them for about 25 minutes at 375 degrees F. They get a little brown and are the best veggie candy. Kids gobbled them. Easy to do health victory!

--

--

David Steinman

David Steinman is an author, parent, and chief officer of the Healthy Living Foundation.