How to become a morning runner

10 tips for waking up and working out early

Davina S
5 min readOct 5, 2017
6am sunrise over Valletta, Malta. © Davina Spriggs 2017.

It’s no secret that I’m a morning person! And I love nothing more than going out for a run first thing as the sun is still rising, but I have to admit I haven’t always felt this way. I’ve worked hard and consistently to gain a habitual morning routine that has trained my body to become an early morning runner.

Training your body

There are many reasons why I love running early in the morning, there are major benefits. It can lower my stress levels, it gives me more energy, I feel more prepared for the day, generally I feel better about myself. Studies have shown that a morning routine can make us happier and more productive, it can ease anxiety as well as helping us sleep better. There is also a little bit of pleasure I get from knowing that I’m out running while everyone else is still sleeping! But becoming a morning runner isn’t always so simple, it can take weeks or even months to establish a routine.

Running with the sunrise in Malta. © Davina Spriggs 2017.

So what is my secret? These are my top 10 tips to help you get out running first thing in the morning:

1. Sleep well

If you want to wake early you should be getting a good nights sleep, this really goes without saying. Ensure you’re getting 8 hours of sleep a night. Lack of sleep can really take its toll on our bodies.

2. Start slow

Start off by setting your alarm a little earlier each day. Begin with a short comfortable jogging route at a slow pace. Gradually build on this each day and week at whichever speed feels comfortable.

3. Have your running clothes set out ready

By laying out everything you need the night before you’ll be ready to go as soon as you wake up, it will also guilt you into getting out of bed when the alarm goes off. Another good tip is to check the weather forecast before you go to sleep so you can adjust to warmer clothing if needed.

4. Warm up with dynamic stretching

Early in the morning our muscles are cold and our bodies can be stiff, it’s a good idea to warm up with dynamic stretching before you set out. Not only will it help you train better, a few simple moves such as lateral leg swings will help avoid running injuries by improving flexibility. Check some of my favourite stretches on Runner’s World.

5. Make a playlist that will boost your energy

Nothing wakes me up more in the morning than energetic music! It’s just what I need to get me in the mood for running. No matter what type of music you like there are hundreds of running playlists to choose from on Spotify.

6. Don’t drink caffeine after 2pm

The effects of caffeine can take a while wear to off and this will cause sleeping problems even if it doesn’t feel like it. Cutting down your alcohol consumption can also help too. Alcohol is a depressant and can leave us feeling sluggish, particularly in the morning.

7. Keep curtains open at night

Let the natural light wake you up in the morning. In winter when mornings are darker, and particularly when I lived in the UK, I found that a lamp clock that simulates the natural sunrise was a big help in waking me up naturally.

Sunrise in Sliema, Malta. © Davina Spriggs 2017.

8. Find a beautiful route to run

Of course we don’t all have this luxury, but if it’s possible try some different routes and you might find one that you look forward to running. I’m lucky to live on the island of Malta, I’ve found some stunning routes where I can watch the sun rising above the sea, this thought each morning really motivates me to get up early.

9. Get social with your running

Connect with running communities on social networks such as Instagram and Facebook, a little encouragement from other runners goes a long way. If like me you take your phone with you while you run, post photos of your early morning running to show your progress and achievements, you might even motivate other runners.

10. Make waking up early a habit

Establish a morning routine and stick to it. On weekends set your alarm a little earlier than usual and your body clock will quickly adjust, waking up early will no longer feel like a chore. You could also try keeping a training diary noting the time you wake up each day and the training you accomplished, I find this extremely motivating to look back at and see how far I’ve progressed, especially when training for something big like a marathon.

Finally…

Running first thing in the morning is empowering, not only will you feel liberated and more awake, you’ll get a huge sense of achievement at the start of the day. And I love seeing other runners up and out so early, plus I’ve seen some awesome sunrises… this always give me inspiration to wake up early! Why not give it a try? The first few mornings will feel difficult, it may even take you a few weeks to establish a routine, but persevere and you‘ll probably find you like it ;)

If you’d like to follow my running progress I just published: Why I’m running my second marathon give it a read and let me know what you think!

And if you liked reading this, check out my next running post: How to be a safe runner.

Enjoyed what you just read?

Feel free to share or leave a comment, thanks for reading!

Davina lives on the Mediterranean island of Malta where she works as a UX designer. Originally from the UK she has also lived in Barcelona. See some of her work here: www.davinaspriggs.com

--

--

Davina S

UX product designer, creative artist, PT, vegan health coach & marathon runner. Sharing posts about my 2 passions - design & fitness.