Why you should visit the Maldives

Davina S
4 min readDec 15, 2016

A picturesque paradise in the heart of the Indian Ocean.

From the very moment I left the bitter, icy cold of London behind, I couldn’t help but daydream of the warm glistening feeling of the Indian ocean that awaited me on landing in the idyllic paradise of the Maldivian islands. A big adventure was laying ahead and I couldn’t wait to go exploring, this is why you should too…

The beautiful Maldives, made up of over 1000 coral islands, are nestled in the Indian Ocean off the southwest coast of Sri Lanka. The islands are a typical picture-perfect postcard bliss, with warm sunshine, crystal clear turquoise waters and powder soft sand.

From landing in the capital island of Malé, I flew by seaplane to the scenic resort of Chaaya Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa, in the Meemu atoll. The views across the scenic atolls are simply mesmerizing! The seaplanes fly incredibly low, so low I could almost reach out and touch the sparkling ocean. I just couldn’t wipe the immense smile from my face, and looking around at the other passengers, I could see I wasn’t alone in my thoughts.

On arriving at the beautiful island hideaway, I found myself immediately greeted by an elegant stingray, coolly gliding through the shallow, clear waters. Eager to see more of what the island offered, I couldn’t help but feel anxious about exploring…. then, catching a glimpse of the stunning and luxurious water bungalows, with their fabulous views across the blue lagoon, I had to pinch myself to believe this is where I would be spending my next few weeks.

Strolling slowly around this tiny place, I notice for the first time, the lush green tree-lined pathways snaking their way around the island, dotted with abundant plant life, exotic fragrant flowers and singing birds. The swaying and soothing swooshing echo of the palm trees combined with the gentle lapping of the ocean, made me realise I had landed in a tropical utopia.

And if this all sounds far too tranquil for you, the vast range of water sports is impressive; swimming, snorkeling, diving, kayaking, canoeing, sailing, surfing to name a few… and if this still isn’t enough to entertain you, try a spot of island hopping, dolphin watching or perhaps a stunning sunset fishing trip, yes, this really is paradise.

Island hopping on one of the traditional handcrafted wooden dhoni fishing boats, is a fascinating way to discover typical Maldivian life; the native people are genuinely warm and welcoming. To speak with the local people and hear them talk of the 2004 Tsunami was humbling. Many of the lower lying islands were completely submerged, thousands of people were displaced from their homes, it’s inspiring to witness how they have since attempted to re-build entire communities.

If you ever wish to travel to a place that is richly diverse, captivating and tropical; I urge you to visit the Maldives. The ambience is equally vibrant and tranquil, with outstanding natural scenery and breath-taking views, it really is like visiting heaven on earth. For a few weeks I was able to switch my laptop and fast-paced design job, for a notepad and pen; and the tranquility of lazing by the shore writing poetry.

Beautiful sunsets fused with balmy evenings, a perfect blend of picturesque views, sun-drenched beaches and warm crystal clear waters… when looking back across many of the places I’ve travelled, I found the Maldivian the islands were uniquely special, I discovered new spirit, passion, peace, tranquility, and an inner-calm I never knew existed.

This is why I believe you should make the journey to this magical paradise location.

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do.” — Mark Twain

I’m a designer and artist at heart, but I love to write about and share my travelling experiences, I’d love to hear your comments — have you ever travelled to an idyllic paradise location that surpassed all of your expectations?

Like what you read? Don’t forget to share!

Original copy published on Hackwriters.

Davina lives on the Mediterranean island of Malta where she works as a UX designer. Originally from the UK she has also lived in Barcelona. See some of her work here: www.davinaspriggs.com

Keep in touch

Connect with me on LinkedIn and Twitter, or check out some of my design work on Dribbble.

More posts from Davina

How to design awesome log-in forms on mobile

Becoming a freelance designer

Discovering the surrealist world of Spanish artist Salvador Dali

--

--

Davina S

UX product designer, creative artist, PT, vegan health coach & marathon runner. Sharing posts about my 2 passions - design & fitness.