Stop Using React, Vue, Svelte, Solid, Angular, Alpine… And Stop Using Vanilla JavaScript Too!

Dav Lederov
2 min readAug 19, 2022

--

Stop Using Everything!

I’m seriously shocked and disgusted by the amount of developers these days who use frontend frameworks. The reasons not to use them are so abundant and irrefutable it is hard to fathom why anyone has ever taken the trouble to create them (for reasons other than self-promotion) let alone make use of them in their web development work.

Here’s a list the the frontend frameworks I specially recommend not to use:

React

The move from class components to functional components was a huge mistake (I’m not sure why, but I’m sure I read that somewhere). Also, it was created by developers at Facebook and that should be reason enough not to use it.

Vue

The transition from Vue 2 to Vue 3 was a disaster (a co-worker told me that). Also, Vue is widely used in China, and that’s reason enough to be suspicious.

Angular

Angular is the worst frontend framework ever. Think of Angular as a Volkswagen and every other framework as a Maserati (I heard a very popular youtuber say that).

Svelte

It was created by some guy who worked for The Guardian and The New York Times (i. e., the liberal media which, as everybody knows, is just a big ball of lies). Actually, he works for Vercel now, which is even worse. The founder of Vercel is Argentinean (Guillermo Rauch) and you should never trust Argentineans (trust me on this one, I’m also Argentinean).

Solid

I don’t like the name (same goes for Alpine).

However, as much as I dislike frameworks, that doesn’t mean I would encourage the use of Vanilla JavaScript. Using Vanilla JS to work out common problems that have already been solved is just reinventing the wheel and therefore a waste of your time and energy.

Conclusion

Basically, what I’m arguing here is that you should stop using any kind of JavaScript code in your web development work, including Single Page Apps. You should use HTML instead.

Watch out for my next article: “Reactivity And State Management With HTML Only (No JavaScript!)”.

Next in my “Stop Using Everything” series: “Stop Using For-Loops As Well As Functional Iteration Methods”.

--

--