Use React Hooks to Connect to Redux Store

Daw-Chih Liou
4 min readMar 20, 2019
Photo by Sam Loyd on Unsplash

React Hooks are officially out with React 16.18 for a little bit now. How do you like it so far? Let me know in the comments!

I enjoy it very much! My components got a lot smaller and simpler. It’s easier to diagnose bugs. Cross concerns are being shared more than ever with fashion (composition)😎 If you haven’t tried it yet, it’s a good time to explore it with the official introduction. It’s very well written.

I wrote an article about testing React Hooks a while back when they were in alpha. If you’re looking for ways to test your components with Hooks, it’s a good place to start.

It’s addictive to me to refactor and implement new features with Hooks and function components and it got to a point where there’s almost no higher order components left in a scaled codebase except for connecting to Redux

--

--

Daw-Chih Liou

Write for developers. Documenting web technology, coding patterns, and best practices from my learnings.