Digital Nomad. Except I’m lying in snow instead of a hammock

William Porter
Future Travel
Published in
2 min readJan 5, 2017
Trinity Bellwoods Park, Toronto

Instead of setting up shop on some beautiful beach somewhere in sunny Mexico or Costa Rica I’ve found myself in Toronto, Canada. Where’ve been freezing my ass off for the past 6 weeks. I don’t even recall the last time I saw snow if ever. But definitely a welcome change from the summers I’ve grown so fond of.

I had just finished a stint in Toronto over the summer after spending a month in Costa Rica getting my head straight. I was about to head home to Melbourne for another summer and that’s when I met my girlfriend.

Frosty night

So now I’m here in Toronto with nothing more than my Kathmandu hoodie, a light down jacket and a pair of dirty converses. Anyone from Canada reading this will know this is not appropriate winter attire.

For those interested at home. How I’m keeping myself busy.

When I’m not freelancing I’m using most of my free-time to focus on personal growth (exercise and learning Spanish), work on side projects (currently building an app for Shopify) and reading (Tim Ferriss’s Tools of Titans).

The topic of Lifestyle Design is super interesting to me at the moment so stay tuned for some of my antics as I try to tell a few of my stories along the way.

--

--