How to fix Android Emulator Wi-Fi Connected with No Internet

Daydreamer
2 min readJul 24, 2020
ADV: Pixel 3a API R

I have wasted a whole day trying out different solutions floating around in Stack Overflow and other place mentioned to enable Wi-Fi on the android emulator but to no avail.

I am on mac OS Catalina 10.15.5 directly connected through my phone as hot-spot Wi-Fi, the emulator has internet through Wi-Fi, but it fails when I connect my computer to my home router. with no proxy.

I even tried deleting all the AVDs, re-installing, cold boot them. I even tried having installed the latest Pixel 3 with Android R. Nothing seems to be working.

Luckily, I found the solution to fix this.
Android AVDs come with Google DNS configured inside emulators. So we need to set same to network sharing for accessing same.

Windows

  1. Go to the Control Panel.
  2. Click Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Center > Change adapter settings.
  3. Select Properties.
  4. Select the Networking tab. Under This connection uses the following items, select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and then click Properties.
  5. Click Advanced and select the DNS tab. If there are any DNS server IP addresses listed there, write them down for future reference, and remove them from this window.
  6. Click OK.
  7. Select Preferred DNS server and Alternate DNS server.
  8. Preferred DNS Server: 8.8.8.8
  9. Alternate DNS server: 8.8.4.4
  10. Click OK.
  11. Restart AVDs.
Windows DNS server settings

macOS

DNS settings are specified in the Network window.

  1. Click Apple menu > System Preferences > Network.
  2. Click Advanced.
  3. Select the DNS tab.
  4. Add 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
  5. Click OK > Apply.
  6. Restart AVDs.
macOS DNS server settings

Reference:

--

--