Change Your Definition of Success and You Will Be Successful

Jona Daye
2 min readJul 30, 2023
Photo by Razvan Chisu on Unsplash

Maybe we all have had the thought that being successful meant being a professional, having a fully furnished house, a car, a wife or husband, earning a substantial income every month, and living either a luxurious or not-so-luxurious life.

I was like that too, living by society’s standard of success, until I realized that I can define success on my own terms.

I am 20, still an undergraduate student, dependent on my parents, with modest savings and investments, no romantic relationship, a handful of friends. Can you believe that at times, I consider myself already successful?

Success largely hinges on one’s perspective. It’s crucial to disregard the opinions of others. Although I can’t deny that I still aspire for the sentiment expressed in the initial statement, there are moments when I feel accomplished:

  1. Attaining peace of mind and mental stability.
  2. Maintaining friendships that are low maintenance.
  3. There is confidence in the ability to achieve independence in the future, regardless of circumstances (self-assurance that even when I lie low or slack off at times, I will get through it and will be able to support myself).
  4. Do not depend on anyone for happiness.
  5. Willing to accept criticism and can communicate in a healthy way.
  6. Allocating time for occasional relaxation within the limits of my financial resources, typically once a month.

There is actually a lot to write down, but that is all I could think of for now, and yeah, that is what my definition of success requires. Hence, those are what I strive and hurdle for. I am living a simple life, and it could be light and dreamless. I have thought of that too, that it was somewhat incompetent. Eventually, as I get to know myself, I have learned that this is me, and so are you.

What does your success requires?

Supporting my educational journey is greatly appreciated! If you found my work valuable and want to contribute to my studies, you can make a donation through PayPal. Your generosity fuels my learning and growth. Thank you for your kind support!

--

--