#paRESISTANCE Forum Digital Toolkit

Thank you all for attending Daylin’s Resistance Forum last week. Over 700 of people who care about protecting progress learned effective ways to lobby, protest, and organize in the community. Your passion, energy, and sense of urgency was inspiring, and I’m truly excited to see the impact that such a large number of people will have on the legislative process in the days ahead!

Over 700 people attended “Daylin’s Resistance Forum” on Wednesday, January 18, 2017, at Upper Merion Middle School in King of Prussia, Pa.

As promised, below is the #paRESISTANCE Forum Toolkit. Take a look, share it with your allies, and let us know if you have anything to add.

  1. The Indivisible Guide was written by former Congressional staffers to help you understand how Congress actually works and how you can affect it. Take a look at their guide and be sure to use their website’s “Local Groups” feature to see if others in your area are organizing under the Indivisible Guide’s principles.
  2. Learn what actions you can take right now to affect what’s happening in Washington D.C. by signing up for action alerts: Daily Action, re:act, and The 65.
  3. Have a few minutes to spare? Calling your legislators to advocate for issues you care about is one of the most effective ways to resist attacks on progress. Five Calls is a new group that makes it easy to advocate for progressive policies by phone. The website lists current issues, displays your legislators’ contact information, and provides you with a sample script for each issue. Give it a try.
  4. Keep tabs on issues you care about by setting up Google Alerts that monitor the news. You can also subscribe to breaking news alerts and daily news digests by using the Washington Post’s newsletter service.
  5. Learn more about the fragility of democracy and why it’s so important that we protect it by listening to this TED podcast episode called “Democracy on Trial.” Other helpful podcasts include RadioLab’s More Perfect and Vox’s The Weeds.
  6. Familiarize yourself with the website of the Pennsylvania General Assembly, where you can learn who represents you in Harrisburg and what policies they’re considering. You can find every bill that has ever been introduced, see how your elected officials voted, view the session calendar, and stay on top of committee meeting schedules. If you have any trouble navigating the website, please call my office at 610–768–4200.
  7. Pool resources by contributing to prominent groups that will put up a fight: American Civil Liberties Union, Southern Poverty Law Center, Planned Parenthood Action Fund, the Delaware Riverkeeper Network, and Everytown USA. A full list of the groups who attended our forum is below.
  8. Help the press hold leaders accountable by subscribing to media outlets that do investigative journalism: ProPublica, New York Times, and Washington Post.
  9. Learn from history. People like you have defended democracy before. They learned lessons that can guide us today.
  10. The media covered my forum extensively. Some of their stories can be found among the mentions of me in the media. One attendee, Jenn Lyons, even wrote about the forum in the Huffington Post.
  11. Be careful not to fall for fake news. Read this primer about keeping fake news out of your newsfeeds.
  12. Over five million people around the world participated in the Women’s March on Washington on January 21st, but the work is just beginning for this gigantic grassroots group of advocates. They will be taking action every 10 days of Trump’s presidency. See what they’re doing and join in.
  13. Have questions about voting in Pennsylvania? Visit www.votespa.com.
  14. Want to refer to my Resistance Forum speech or share it with a friend? Watch the video and download the PowerPoint.
  15. Here’s a list of the advocacy groups who sent representatives to my forum:

CAIR (Council on American-Islamic Relations): Jacob Bender, jbender@cair.com

CeaseFirePA: Shira Goodman, shira.goodman@ceasefirepa.org

CELDF (Community Environmental Legal Defense Fund): Chad Nicholson, chad@celdf.org

Clean Air Council: Logan Welde, lwelde@cleanair.org

Delaware Riverkeeper Network: Maya Van Rossum, keepermaya@delawareriverkeeper.org

Education Voters of PA: Susan Spika, sspicka@educationvoterspa.org

Fair Districts PA: Lawrence Husick, lawrence@lawhusick.com

GMO Free PA: Nathan Kleinman, nathankleinman@gmail.com

Lawyers for Good Government: Nadia S. Adawi, nadia.adawi@gmail.com

Mobilization for Animals: Jenny Reimenschneider, mfajenny2@gmail.com

Moms Demand Action: Mary Ann Nord, manord3@gmail.com

Move to Amend: Fran Regan, franregan@aol.com

NOW (National Organization for Women): Kenyatta Malcolm, mmkenyatta@gmail.com

Penn Environment: Elowyn Corby, elowyn@pennenvironment.org

Pennsylvania Budget and Policy Center: Marc Steir, marcsteir@gmail.com

PHAN (PA Health Access Network): Antoinette Kraus, akraus@pahealthaccess.org

Philly’s Woman’s March: Emily Morse, phillywomenrally@gmail.com

Planned Parenthood: Dayle Steinberg, Dayle.Steinberg@ppsp.org

Second Nurture: Rabbi Nehama Benmosche, therabbioftomorrow@gmail.com

Sierra Club: Maria Duca & Robin Mann, maria.dilullo@gmail.com & robinlmann@gmail.com

Villanova Law Institute to Address Commercial Sexual Exploitation: Shea Rhodes, shea.rhodes@law.villanova.edu

Pennsylvania Senator Daylin Leach (D-Montgomery/Delaware) gives opening remarks at “Daylin’s Resistance Forum” on Wednesday, January 18, 2017, at Upper Merion Middle School in King of Prussia, Pa.