My coding journey, so far.

Dayren Tolliver
2 min readMar 12, 2019

--

Unlike a lot of programmers, I’ve led an untraditional path that has gotten me to this very point.

I haven’t been coding since I was five years old and definitely don’t have a CS Degree. In fact, I didn’t even know what coding was until my sophomore year of college!

I know, right.

At some point during my Winter Break, I saw a video featuring Mark Zuckerberg talking about “Hour of Code”. For some reason or another, I was intrigued, so I decided to participate. I don’t recall the challenge being that hard, but at the same time I wasn’t “hooked” either.

It wasn’t until the spring semester of my senior year of college that I decided to try coding again. My friend, who had already taken the class that I was interested in, told me that it was fun and that he even learned how to make a tip calculator. So I signed up.

I really enjoyed learning about HTML and CSS. Making my very first website was such an empowering feeling! I was really starting to regret not majoring in CS/CIS.

That is until I got to JavaScript…

I don’t know what it was about JS, but it was my kryptonite (and still is to this day, somewhat). I passed the class with a “B”, but JS scared me enough to not pursue coding for while.

I went on to graduate from West Texas A&M University with a BBA in Marketing.

I’ve been coding on and off for the past three years, but I am determined to succeed, this time.

I’ve become a member of a few local Meetup groups in Atlanta and it’s really refreshing to know that there are people who want to see me do well. I love hearing about other people’s journeys and I like having others hold me accountable.

I’m excited to see what the future holds.

Thanks for reading!

--

--