Teamwork and collaboration.

Dennis Belio
3 min readFeb 13, 2019

--

The idea of teamwork and collaboration at Andela workplace is the most valued and observed accordingly. They believe you can’t achieve everything alone but with teamwork and collaboration will all heat the targets. I used to have this mentality of working alone in a silent room was perfect, I used to be a shy person but all this stopped the first week I was invited for Andela workshop programme that was to run for one month. I received email and the only thing that I saw in the email was the name of my LFA and team members! and we were to meet on Monday. Back on my mind was wondering what are characters of my team members including my LFA?. On Monday I was to meet them all and I was surprised to see good looking guys, jovial and energetic people. At Andela, they have values which are excellence, passion, integrity, collaboration.

For you to join Andela you must show excellence in your work, demonstrate that you have a passion for programming, you must maintain integrity standards in the workplace and most importantly you must collaborate with your team members. After brief introductions, we formed groups and the importance of the groups was to collaborate with each other to achieve a common goal joining Andela.

The name of my LFA is John Musiu, he is a software developer at Andela ruby on rails stack. Something interesting about him is he has the longest hair, jovial and passionate about software. Don’t judge a book without its cover. The first time I saw John I got scared, to be honest, he looked serious. After a few hours of interactions with him, I noticed that he has the fun part of him and the other one I guess, he also was so much informative. I bet he can’t shout that loud!! reason being all that time he was talking to us he was talking in a low tone.

I also met Alexona Kinuthia. He likes playing basketball and love’s coding. Something interesting about him he once took dad’s car without permission practice driving. While driving he crashed the car against a huge rock luckily the father didn’t notice.

Also, In our group we had Daniel Wainaina Gichuhi, something interesting about him is, he plays piano, likes listing to music like Lingala, pop and soft rock. He wears glass I call them “macho four” meaning he can see four times better than us just kidding Daniel. After interacted with him on slack I noticed that Daniel hates Manchester United! he even called us “Man mbili” after we lost to Paris Saint let me hope that he’s not either Arsenal or Chelsea fun.

Also had a chance to meet Chrispine Chiedo, a learning facilitator at Andela. something interesting about him he’s a big fan of Game of Thrones. He’s passionate about software I guess and he looks serious most of the times.

I also interacted with Ann Mukundu a little. Something interesting about her she doesn't like watching football. It’s hard to tell what Ann really likes because she looks serious most of the time, She talks less but given the opportunity, she can impact anyone with great knowledge for example about a fixed mindset and a growth mindset.

--

--