CS371p: Week of 10/30/2022

Daniel Jeng
2 min readOct 31, 2022

--

What did you do this past week?

  • My roommate and I played in IM Spikeball on Friday, but we left early to go to a dinner in one of the CSOC alumni’s homes. I think if we had stayed, we could have podiumed, but I really enjoyed dinner and being with the other believers.

What’s in your way?

  • Because I’m in the middle of applying for internships, I need to figure out the general kinds of things they will ask me to explain. Hopefully I can review enough and also get my regular assignments done this week.

What will you do next week?

  • I will have my first (so exciting) in-person interview. I think it is relatively competitive, judging from the number of interview slots. It would be great to get a return offer, but I guess if I don’t get one, things will still work out.

What did you think of Paper 10. Why getter and setter methods are evil?

  • I had always associated OOD with getting and setting, but I understand the viewpoint from which the article is written. Because in industry most of the use cases of objects being designed are known, and because functionality encapsulation can be enlarged in scope so that objects manage their own resources internally, it is possible to eliminate getters and setters.

What was your experience of iteration and initializations?

  • Initializations are honestly still kind of confusing…definitely going to have to take a look at those notes. The int i = {1}; syntax almost seems logically unfounded. I guess maybe they did it so that it follows the pattern of initialization if a longer list is allowed as a parameter to an object’s copy constructor. Iteration was more intuitive.

What made you happy this week?

  • Jesus always is the best part of my week. Nothing else satisfies.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

  • If you are trying to insert code into RStudio using a Markdown file, you have to use a triple backtick instead of a triple apostrophe. I kind of didn’t realize there was a difference until recently…

--

--