That looks like a house I’d like to live in

Finding Things on Medium is Confusing

Medium is filled with great writing, but finding it is a mess

David Benson
2 min readAug 13, 2013

--

I was invited to join Medium the other day in the late afternoon. I had been waiting for a very long time to get accepted into the early adopter pool, and I was so excited that I pumped out a post immediately.

The writing process felt almost effortless, and the UI was a joy to work with. But I got confused when I was trying to figure out where to put it. Where can I put my writing so it can be read by people who would find it most interesting?

When I went to look for places to put my post, I realized how hard it was to find content based on category. Collections are supposed to do that, but finding the right collections is confusing.

Finding these things on Medium feels like wading through an ocean of content — and not in a good way. The content is great, mind you, but good content at the wrong time is a waste, and waste is always frustrating.

I think this will be one of the main issues moving forward with this platform. There is so much good content here, but the challenge is finding the right type of content when you need it. I’m still new, and I realize that Medium itself is also quite new. So I’ll take all these things in stride for the time being and just focus on writing and interacting with great content.

But with each great thought contributed to Medium, it becomes harder to find everything else.

A rising tide may lift all boats, but it makes it harder to find the fish.

--

--

David Benson

Adventuring Thoughtsmith. Composer, Writer, @Mashwork Analyst, and #GlassExplorer. I have an insatiable thirst for everything. www.TheSocialChic.com