A Certain Kind of Person

Leslie D. Lanagan
4 min readAug 12, 2024

This is why autistic kids are abused often. It’s exactly how they become weak targets. They’re so incredibly friendly that it would not occur to them that if they went with a stranger, things might not turn out well for them. I wasn’t a target for sexual abuse, just psychosexual because the line was absolutely always unclear. It led to feelings of “why don’t you want me when you don’t like seeing me with anyone else?” That’s the only time I’ve ever seen her speechless. That’s because not three minutes ago she was reading me the riot act over marrying Dana because she worked in a grocery store. That’s because Dana is also STEAM. She understands math, programming, cooking. She has a bachelor’s of arts I don’t have. Therefore, it never would have occurred to me that she “worked in a grocery store.” Like, how dare you? That’s my wife. As far as I know, Dana is not autistic unless you count the fact that they’re strongly advising that ADHD actually become part of Autism Spectrum Disorder because the symptoms are so close in low needs, high IQ patients. That’s where it’s especially important to watch girls in class. I have figured out that the kind of autism I have is the kind of ADHD that presents in girls- incredibly smart and driven into academia, or popping up to go talk to people “real quick. I just need a minute. Pleeeeeeaaaaaassssse?” Thus began the first “I don’t give a fuck” of my life. I was tired of that shit.

When Dana was working at New Seasons (fabulous grocery store, check it out. The reason it’s so fabulous is that it’s like Central Market in Texas. You can…

--

--