Nailing the Interview: A No-Nonsense Approach to Showcasing Your Talents

David Campbell
8 min readMay 15, 2024

We’ve all been there, right? The blank stare, desperately scanning our brain, hoping to walk out of an interview without completely embarrassing ourselves. Trust me, you’re not alone. In my previous article, “Hacking the Tech Job Market: How to Stand Out and Get Noticed,” I shared some tips on crafting a standout resume and catching the attention of potential employers. But once you’ve landed the interview, the real work begins.

My Wake-Up Call: Bombing the Square Interview

My most embarrassing interview moment came in 2014, just one year before Square’s (now Block, Inc) IPO. I had been at Nest Labs for three years, and after the Google acquisition, I was hungry for an opportunity to be part of an IPO rather than an acquisition. So, when a friend helped me land an interview at Square, I jumped at the chance. Square seemed ideal — their platform team wrote in Ruby, my first favorite programming language, and they had been around long enough that I knew it would be a healthy bet.

Abstract visualization of the interview process featuring a central glowing sphere representing the candidate, surrounded by dynamic shapes symbolizing the interviewer and various interview stages. These shapes are interconnected by lines and arrows forming a complex web, set against a digital landscape background. The palette mixes warm oranges, cool blues, and vibrant purples, creating depth and movement.
Research, Reflect, and Prepare

Within five minutes of the coding interview — the process where candidates are tested on their ability to write code on the fly with varying degrees of focus and difficulty — I knew I was toast. The question was to write a piece of software that, when given a pattern on a spacebar, would output to the monitor, in this case, print to the console. Basically, just “build a metronome right here, on the fly, with zero preparation”… Go!

I bombed. I froze. I don’t think I even got a proper for loop started, which is brainless and the equivalent of shaking someone’s hand, before I knew it was over. I stammered and thanked the interviewer profusely, but I’ve been to enough debriefs to know I got the decisive “strong no,” indicating they had to pass on me.

It was an awakening, for sure. I recall extensively researching the question afterward, trying to understand where I went wrong and how I could have approached it differently. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that it wasn’t necessarily a bad question, but rather one that required a specific set of skills and problem-solving abilities that I hadn’t fully developed at the time.

It’s easy to fall into the trap of labeling a question as “silly” or “unfair” when we don’t perform as well as we’d like, but the truth is, every challenge is an opportunity to learn and grow. Looking back, I can see that the question was designed to test my ability to think on my feet, break down a complex problem into smaller parts, and communicate my thought process clearly and concisely.

While I still believe there are better ways to assess a candidate’s technical skills and potential (and I’ll be sure to dive into that topic in a future article), I’ve come to appreciate the lessons I learned from that experience. It taught me the importance of continual learning, adaptability, and resilience in the face of setbacks. It also motivated me to develop a more systematic approach to problem-solving and to seek out opportunities to practice and refine those skills.

To this day, I don’t think I’d pass that interview, but at least now, I would have walked away knowing I did my best. Experience has taught me there are countless ways to resolve problems, and problem-solving on the fly is a skill that can be learned with practice and some hopefully useful advice.

Researching the Company and Role

When it comes to preparing for an interview, I used to be all about doing my homework. Don’t get me wrong, researching the company and the role is still important, especially if you’re starting out in your career. But these days, I’m more focused on gathering information that will help me make a real connection with the interviewer.

One thing I always do is ask the person who referred me for insights about the company culture and the team I’d be working with. This helps me tailor my approach and highlight the experiences and skills that are most relevant to the role. I’ll also take a look at the interviewer’s LinkedIn profile or other online presence, like Twitter (follow me @MrDavidCampbell), just to get a sense of their background and interests. See if you’re in similar groups or have a common connection; don’t go and find the typo in their very first post. It’s there, leave it alone. The goal isn’t to be creepy or stalker-ish but rather to find common ground and build rapport.

I remember one interview where I noticed that the hiring manager and I had both volunteered for the same nonprofit organization, FastForward Accelerator. When I mentioned this during the interview, her face lit up, and we ended up having a great conversation about our shared passion for the cause. That connection definitely helped me stand out from the other candidates and ultimately land jobs.

Brush Up On Those Skills

No matter how much experience you have or how confident you feel, it’s always a good idea to set aside some time to review and practice the key skills and technologies that are relevant to the role you’re applying for. This is especially important if it’s been a while since you’ve used a particular tool or framework, or if you’re interviewing for a position that requires a slightly different skill set than your current job.

One way to approach this is to look at the job description and make a list of the key requirements and qualifications. Then, go through each item on the list and ask yourself: when was the last time I used this skill? How comfortable do I feel with it? What are some projects or examples I can point to that demonstrate my proficiency?

If you identify any areas where you feel a bit rusty or uncertain, don’t panic. There are plenty of resources available to help you get up to speed, from online tutorials and courses to coding challenges and practice problems. Set aside some dedicated time each day to work on these skills, and focus on building your confidence and familiarity with the tools and concepts you’ll need to showcase in the interview.

Another helpful strategy is to reach out to your network and see if you can find someone who’s currently working in a similar role or with the same technologies. Pro Tip: offer to buy them coffee or lunch and socialize with them, or better yet, offer to pay them for their time and insights on what skills and experiences are most important for success in the field. You never know what valuable nuggets of wisdom or insider tips you might glean from these conversations. Nothing is more dreadful than the “let me pick your brain” message. Time and experience have value, and you must acknowledge that.

The key is to be proactive and strategic in your preparation. Don’t just assume that your past experience will be enough to carry you through the interview. Take the time to assess your strengths and weaknesses, and put in the work to fill any gaps or sharpen any dulled skills. The more confident and well-prepared you feel going into the interview, the better you’ll be able to showcase your unique value and make a lasting impression on the hiring team.

Acing the Interview Itself

So, you’ve done your research, reflected on your experiences, and prepared some go-to stories and examples. Now it’s time for the main event: the interview itself.

A young woman with long brown hair in a ponytail confidently presents sudo code on a whiteboard in a vibrant office. She wears a white blouse and black pants and smiles warmly while explaining her coding strategy. The office is bright and modern with colorful furniture and floor-to-ceiling windows. Three attentive interviewers, impressed by her presentation, lean forward, taking notes. The atmosphere is open and collaborative.

One of the biggest mistakes I see candidates make is trying to be someone they’re not. They think they need to have all the answers or fit some kind of mold, so they end up coming across as stiff or inauthentic. But the truth is, the best interviews are the ones where you can just be yourself and have a genuine conversation. Everyone has on their interview face when going through the process, but I’ve interviewed many candidates before and you can tell when someone is being authentic or not. It comes across as disingenuous.

That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t prepare or practice, of course. But it does mean you should focus on showcasing your unique strengths and experiences rather than trying to conform to some imaginary ideal.

If you’re asked about a time when you faced a challenge at work, don’t just give a generic answer about working hard and persevering. Instead, think about a specific situation where you used your skills and creativity to come up with a solution. Maybe you streamlined a process that was causing bottlenecks, or you found a way to bridge a communication gap between two teams. The more concrete and specific you can be, the more memorable and impactful your answer will be. For example, when I’m asked I usually refer to my experience reducing India’s Latency by Nearly 1/2 a second.

Another key aspect of acing the interview is being able to think on your feet. You never know exactly what questions you’ll be asked, so it’s important to be able to adapt and come up with thoughtful responses on the spot.

One way to practice this is to have a friend or colleague give you mock interviews and throw some curveball questions your way. But you can also train yourself to think more flexibly by exposing yourself to new ideas and perspectives. Read books and articles outside your field, attend conferences or meetups, and seek out conversations with people from different backgrounds. The more diverse your knowledge base, the easier it will be to make connections and come up with creative solutions in the moment.

At the end of the day, nailing the interview is all about preparation, authenticity, and the ability to think on your feet. By doing your research, brushing up on your skills, and staying true to yourself, you’ll be well on your way to showcasing your unique talents and landing your dream job.

But remember, the interview process is just one part of your career journey. The real key to success is to keep learning, growing, and pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. Embrace new challenges, seek out diverse perspectives, and never stop striving to be the best version of yourself.

If you ever find yourself in a tough spot, just remember that even the most successful people have had their fair share of embarrassing moments and setbacks. The important thing is to learn from them, dust yourself off, and keep moving forward.

So, here’s my challenge to you: put these tips and strategies into action during your next interview. Come prepared, be yourself, and don’t be afraid to think on your feet. And afterwards, I want to hear about your experience! Share your success stories, lessons learned, or even your own embarrassing moments in the comments below. Let’s keep the conversation going and support each other on this crazy, wonderful journey we call a career.

If you found this article helpful, please consider sharing it with your friends, colleagues, or anyone else who might be preparing for an interview. You never know who might benefit from some no-nonsense advice and encouragement.

So go out there and show the world what you’re made of. With a little hard work, a lot of heart, and a dash of humor, there’s no limit to what you can achieve. And if you ever need a pep talk or some words of wisdom along the way, you know where to find me. Happy interviewing, folks!

--

--

David Campbell

AI Security Risk Lead @ Scale AI, known for an AI Red Teaming platform recognized by the U.S. Congress and the White House, champions ethical AI.