μHorror does Midsommar (2019): Prepare yourselves

Danielle Campbell
2 min readNov 11, 2019

--

Grade: A-

Real talk, I loved “Midsommar.”

However, it is not for everyone. Based on my experience watching “Midsommar” with my boyfriend, I might even call it divisive (spoiler: he really didn’t like it). Despite enjoying writer/director Ari Aster’s last movie, “Hereditary” (2018), another bizarre one, he still couldn’t get onboard with “Midsommar.” If watching with others, prepare to have a long post-movie debate.

“Midsommar” is intense, bizarre, and intensely bizarre. Truly, I don’t think it scared me during my watch (this is the only reason I didn’t give “Midsommar” an A). Instead, it surprised, confused, and disgusted me. The film is a slow build, and by the time realized just how uncomfortable I was, it was over, and there I was, ever so mildly horrified as I digested what I had just seen. Prepare to be confused.

That isn’t to say it’s a fast watch. By horror standards, “Midsommar” is a long slog, clocking in at more than 2 hours. Incredibly, it managed to keep my attention without moving at a fast pace (and I’ve been known to be a little goldfish-like), meanwhile my partner was writhing in his seat like a toddler on a long car ride. Prepare your patience.

One way “Midsommar” drew me in is with its striking imagery. Aster uses color and light to really manipulate the feeling of the film. At times it is dark, ominous, and claustrophobic, and at others it is bright, open, and colorful. Don’t let this fool you, though, some of the most horrifying scenes occur under the purest of blue skies. Prepare to be mesmerized.

Perhaps it is because we share a name, but I found the main character, Dani (Florence Pugh), to be incredibly relatable. I’m hard pressed to think of one choice in the story she makes that I wouldn’t also make… if I were to find myself in same set of terrible and bizarre circumstances. There are several stellar performances in the movie; Vilhelm Blomgren acted so well I suspect it was not an act and that he is that genuinely nice in real life. Really, I felt a connection to most, if not all, of “Midsommar”s characters, no matter how flawed they are as people. Prepare to gain a new family.

The relatability of the characters affords “Midsommar” its emotional intensity. I won’t elaborate more, as I’ve tried really hard not to spoil any of the story, because this is a movie that really deserves a cold watch. Just know that you should be prepared for an experience.

--

--

Danielle Campbell

Danielle is a Microbiology PhD candidate at the University of Illinois, a USAPL powerlifter, horror movie junkie, and virus whisperer.