MDL Interview: Miss Yeah

MDL Talent Hub
4 min readJul 18, 2018

--

A fun and interesting interview with internet celebrity "Miss Yeah"!

What do you do if you have the opportunity to meet Miss Yeah? Interview her of course! On our second day at the RISE conference in Hong Kong, we had the opportunity to interview Miss Yeah, here is how that went:

Thank you for taking some time off from your busy schedule to answer a few questions about your life & work

Could you, please, tell us how your day was so far?

Mmm lets try, I woke up at 9am, then I went to breakfast with my team, at breakfast we discussed the upcoming meetings for today. The schedule is really tight nowadays. We had a few meetings today up at the RISE conf area, and now I am giving an interview to you. That’s it!

Oh gosh, you have quite a tough schedule in this time’s visit to Hong Kong. I promise our interview won’t take super long *laughing* Let’s continue!

What is your favorite part about creating food vlogs?

Hm… as you probably know, I am from Sichuan Province in China, and we have so many spices there, and ILOVE it so much. I really love my way of cooking Sichuan cuisine, I hope you enjoy watching it as much as I enjoyed cooking it for you.

Undoubtedly, I love your blog!

What were your biggest challenges when starting your journey?

That is a good question. I think the biggest challenge still exists with being able to get new followers while keeping an ALREADY existing audience engaged and interested in my videos. I need to stay NEW, stay FRESH, stay INSPIRED. The ability to think differently, think up new ideas, create fresh content… is the most important.

Absolutely agree with you, because nowadays we all are so hungry for new content.

Was it hard for you to balance work/vlogging when you first started?

Yes it is not easy, especially in the begging, I had no idea how to run a vlog, didn’t really know what a vlog was. In the beginning I did everything by myself, like recording, editing and uploading videos or doing makeup. But later as my vlog grew and became more successful, I started to work with a small team. You know… they are amazing, they support my vision and goals with everything they have.

Lucky you! What advice would you give to beginning talents?

Take blogging\vlogging or dancing or acting or painting seriously or you gonna waste your time. Give fresh and interesting information to people, only then will they come to you. Try to improve yourself through the things you do.

What healthy eating tips could you share with us?

Food, mood and health go hand in hand, eat your way happier! Spicy or not spice hot-pot is the best way to boost my mood, it’s also a great practice for bringing friends and family together. But, you know, like so many other things, spicy food has good and bad sides :( spicy foods could be causing your facial redness, so it is better not to eat it every day!

What advice would you give to people who don’t have the financial support to start full-time vlogging?

As I already said before take vlogging seriously as much as you can, because it has a future. Ask your friends to help you, to work closely with you to get your dream comes true.

What is your favorite food to create videos about and why?

Sichuan cuisine haha throughout my life I have loved spicy food, especially spicy Sichuan hot pot. I have gotten my cooking style from my dad, he is a wonderful cook.

If you could send a message back in time, what would you have told your younger self? I haven’t really thought about this thing.

Ahh.. I haven’t really thought about that yet. More than that, hmmm… if I could say something to my younger self, it would be: stay strong, stay motivated and focus on something you love. We all know how hard is it. Sometimes we all need someone who inspires us to do better than we know how and to be what we know we could be. Actually, this is one of the reason why I am running my vlog and public accounts, it gives you an amazing opportunity to help others by showing them what you know what you can do. every time I get a reply on Instagram or Facebook or Youtube from my followers telling me they found one of my posts or videos useful, I’m happy. I am happy being able to inspire someone.

What helped you most (besides family & friends) to get you to where you are now.

I’m thankful for the love and support from my followers! I am also grateful for the team that I am surrounded here. They helped me a lot, they keep me on my toes

It was really nice talking to you, but I guess that our interview comes to an end now! I wish you a wonderful day and thank you so much for your cooperation, good continuation in your passion; I hope you will enjoy your future!

--

--

MDL Talent Hub

MDL Talent Hub is an application ecosystem that connects talents to gigs and brands to their audiences.