Google pixel 3a is still my daily driver in 2024

It has been a great value phone!

Robert Buscher
3 min readJan 10, 2024
Photo by Sebastian Bednarek on Unsplash

Last October, Google announced their new Google Pixel 8 and 8 pro. Sometimes, when new smartphones come out, I want to change my phone. I don’t think I’m the only one.

Maybe we should reconsider this way of doing things, so that we don’t overconsume. I still sometimes have this urge to change my phone, but I realize that mine is still great and still does the job well.

Actually, it makes me laugh a bit when reviewers say “this phone will last at least 5 years” when half of people will replace it after just one and a half year.

I’m not, a Fairphone fanatic, but I simply find that we’re sometimes tricked by marketing into switching our devices when we don’t necessarily need to.

I’ve been using my pixel 3a as a daily driver for 2 and a half years now, and I haven’t had any particular problem since then that would allow me to change phones! (except a few things that I listed below)

The screen remains the same as when it was brand new. Performance remains decent: it’s a Snapdragon 670 chip, so it’s not incredible, but the fact that Android stock is running on my device still makes the phone super fluid and usable!

--

--

Robert Buscher

I'll show you tools to be productive with Tech and tips on Solidworks.