I’m going to switch to Linux if Windows continue like that

I don’t like the way Windows is going…

Robert Buscher
2 min readJan 28, 2024

It’s been one year since I installed windows 11. This new software improve a lot the UI, which clearly needed a refresh. But I also think that it shows the future that Microsoft wants for his OS. And I don’t like it, and I think you wouldn’t either.

Picture showing the interface of Linux Mint, a distro.
Picture of Linux Mint, a famous distro.

The ad and AI era

For a year now, tech companies have been in a frantic and questionable race to AI. It’s as if they don’t even question the real usefulness of their products, just to show they’re in the vogue, they continue their race.

Clearly, Windows 11 focuses on 2 things that I don’t like: AI and ads, which are becoming unbearable. I find these ads are deeper-rooted in the system than on Windows 10. Whether in widgets or Edge, or even on Copilot one day.

It ruins the experience. I’ve disabled widgets, don’t use Edge precisely because of the ads, and don’t use Copilot either, because I just don’t see the point. I can see Copilot with ads eventually, and that’s something that disappoints me, compared to older Windows versions.

--

--

Robert Buscher

I'll show you how to be more productive with tech, and keep a healthy view of it.