Resources

200+ sites, apps & books that I recommend any designer should check out.

Dan Edwards
Nov 25, 2013 · 5 min read

Exciting news! — This list has been turned into a web app — http://oozled.com

I’ve written this as a reference guide for any designer looking for resources for their web projects. If you’ve got something you want to add please now submit it to http://oozled.com

Currently 200+ Resources added. (Updated 15th May 2014)


Photography

Free

Unsplash — www.unsplash.com

Picjumbo — www.picjumbo.com

Gratisography — www.gratisography.com

Superfamous — www.superfamous.com

Little Visuals — www.littlevisuals.co

Split Shire — www.splitshire.com

Pixabay — www.pixabay.com

I’m Free — www.imcreator.com/free

New Old Stock — www.nos.twnsnd.co

Function Free Photos — http://wefunction.com/category/free-photos/

Paul Jarvis Free Photos — http://pjrvs.com/a/photos

Zoomy Images — http://zoomyimages.com/

Paid

Dollar Photo Club — http://www.dollarphotoclub.com

Compfight — www.compfight.com

Stocksy — www.stocksy.com

Placeit Product Shots — www.placeit.net

iStockphoto — http://istockphoto.com

offset — http://www.offset.com

Corbis — http://www.corbisimages.com

Facebox — http://facebox.io


Typography

Okay Type — www.okaytype.com

Typekit — www.typekit.com

My Fonts — www.myfonts.com

Fonts — www.fonts.com

Font Squirrel — www.fontsquirrel.com

Da Font — www.dafont.com

Google Fonts — www.google.com/fonts

1001 Free Fonts — www.1001freefonts.com

Lost Type Co-op — www.losttype.com

Ico Moon — www.icomoon.io

Font-To-Width — http://font-to-width.com/


Mockup Tools

InVision — www.invisionapp.com

Mockupr — www.mockupr.com

Flinto — www.flinto.com

Flinto Icon Strike! — www.flinto.com/strike

Webflow — www.webflow.com

Mockuuups — www.mockuuups.com

Red Pen — https://redpen.io

PSD Covers — http://www.psdcovers.com/


Wireframing

Moqups — www.moqups.com

Wireframe.cc — ww.wireframe.cc

Mockflow — www.mockflow.com

Mockingbird — www.gomockingbird.com

Flair Builder — http://flairbuilder.co

Balsamiq — http://balsamiq.com/products/mockups/

Axure — http://www.axure.com/

Justinmind — http://www.justinmind.com/

UX Pin — http://uxpin.com


Prototyping

InVision — http://www.invisionapp.com

Mixture — www.mixture.io

Flinto — www.flinto.com

Gridset — www.gridsetapp.com

Marvel — https://marvelapp.com

Webflow — https://webflow.com

Red Pen — https://redpen.io

Proto — http://proto.io

Iconii — http://iconii.com

Macaw — http://macaw.co/

Froont — http://froont.com


RWD

Responsive.is — http://responsive.is/typecast.com

Gridpak — www.gridpak.com

Responsive Nav — www.responsive-nav.com

Off Screen Navigation — http://tympanus.net/Development/MultiLevelPushMenu/

Responsive Web Design Test — www.designmodo.com/responsive-test/

Media Queries — www.mediaqueri.es

Foundation by Zurb — www.foundation.zurb.com

Jetstrap — www.jetstrap.com

Webflow — www.webflow.com

Gridset — www.gridsetapp.com

BrowserStack — www.browserstack.com

Sassaparilla — http://sass.fffunction.co

Sidebar Transitions — http://tympanus.net/Development/SidebarTransitions/

Dimensions (Chrome Extension) — https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/dimensions/hdmihohhdcbejdkidbfijmfehjbnmifk?hl=en

Responsive Grid System — http://responsive.gs/

Responsi — http://respon.si



CSS

Animate.css — www.daneden.me/animate

CSS3 Animation Cheat Sheat — http://www.justinaguilar.com/animations/index.html

Can I Use? — www.caniuse.com

Animation Fill Code — www.animationfillcode.com

Pure — http://purecss.io/

The Magic of CSS — http://adamschwartz.co/magic-of-css/


HTML 5

HTML5 Please — www.html5please.com

Can I Use? — www.caniuse.com



Free Photoshop Files

PSDS.co — www.psds.co

Fribbble — www.fribbble.com

Premium Pixels — www.premiumpixels.com

Teehan+Lax iOS 7 Gui PSD (iPhone)— www.teehanlax.com/tools/iphone

Teehan+Lax iOS 7 Gui PSD (iPad) — www.teehanlax.com/tools/ipad/

iPhone Mockuuups — www.mockuuups.com

Freebiesbug — http://freebiesbug.com/

Marvel — https://marvelapp.com/resources/

Ui Space — http://uispace.net

DB Freebies — http://dbfreebies.co

365 PSD — http://365psd.com/

Pixel Buddha — http://pixelbuddha.net/

Pixels Daily — http://pixelsdaily.com/


Icons

Other Icons — www.othericons.com

Batch — www.adamwhitcroft.com/batch/

Icon Sweets — www.iconsweets.com

Ico Moon — www.icomoon.io

Flat Icon — http://www.flaticon.com

The Noun Project — http://thenounproject.com

Perfect Icons — http://perfecticons.com/

Iconfinder — www.iconfinder.com


Image Compression

Tiny Png — www.tinypng.com

JPEGmini — www.jpegmini.com

ImageOptim — www.imageoptim.com


Photoshop Tools

Mac Rabbit Slicy — www.macrabbit.com/slicy/

Renamy — www.renamy.com

Blendme.in — www.blendme.in


Invoicing / Accountancy

Freeagent — www.freeagent.com

Freshbooks — www.freshbooks.com

Xero — http://www.xero.com/

Crunch — http://www.crunch.co.uk

Slimvoice — http://slimvoice.co/

Ballpark — http://www.getballpark.com


Legal

Andrew Clarke’s Contract Killer — www.stuffandnonsense.co.uk/projects/contract-killer/

Proper App — www.properapp.com

iubenda — www.iubenda.com

Docracy — http://www.docracy.com/


Inspiration

Siteinspire — www.siteinspire.com

Land Book — www.land-book.com

Awwwards — www.awwwards.com

The Best Designs — www.thebestdesigns.com

Dribbble — www.dribbble.com

Behance — www.behance.com

Niice — http://niice.co

One Page Love — http://onepagelove.com/


Hosting

Propagated Yet? www.propagatedyet.com

Instant Domain Search — www.instantdomainsearch.com

Domainr — https://domai.nr/


Job Boards

Crew — www.pickcrew.com

Juiiicy — www.juiiicy.com

Dribbble Jobs — www.dribbble.com/jobs

Authentic Jobs — www.authenticjobs.com

Workfu — www.workfu.com

Onsite — www.onsite.io


Maps

Mapbox — www.mapbox.com

Leaflet — www.leafletjs.com

Google Map Builder — http://googlemapbuilder.mynameisdonald.com/

Snazzy maps — http://www.snazzymaps.com


Online Classes

Treehouse — www.teamtreehouse.com

Steer — www.steer.me

Lynda — www.lynda.com

Codeacademy —www.codecademy.com

Code School — www.codeschool.com

Udacity — www.udacity.com

Code.org — http://code.org/

WebPlatform — http://www.webplatform.org/


Podcasts

The Freelance Web — www.thefreelanceweb.com

Unfinished Business — www.unfinished.bz

Happy Monday — www.happymondaypodcast.com

Boagworld — www.boagworld.com/show/

Shop Talk Show — www.shoptalkshow.com

The Back to Front Show — www.backtofrontshow.com

The Big Web Show — www.zeldman.com/category/the-big-web-show/

Upfront Podcast — www.upfrontpodcast.com

The Industry — www.theindustry.cc/category/podcast/

Iterate — http://www.imore.com/iterate




Speaking

Speaking.io — www.speaking.io

Mark Boulton’s Tips — www.markboulton.co.uk/journal/speakingtips

On Speaking by Brad Frost — www.bradfrostweb.com/blog/post/on-speaking/

Public speaking for the (formerly) terrified by Rachel Andrew — www.rachelandrew.co.uk/archives/2012/05/02/public-speaking-for-the-formerly-terrified/

10 Kick ass presentation techniques (Treehouse) — http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/10-kick-ass-presentation-techniques

Suggestions for Speakers by Frank Chimero — http://frankchimero.com/blog/suggestions-for-speakers/

The best advice on public speaking by Ladies in Tech — http://ladiesintech.com/the-best-advice-on-public-speaking/

You’re paying to speak by Remy Sharp — http://remysharp.com/2014/03/07/youre-paying-to-speak/


Payment Solutions / Gateways

Stripe — www.stripe.com

GoCardless — www.gocardless.com

Plasso — https://plasso.co


Just Handy

Copy Paste Character — www.copypastecharacter.com

JustDelete.me — www.justdelete.me

What’s my UDID? — www.whatsmyudid.com

Shapecatcher — www.shapecatcher.com

UI Names — http://uinames.com/

UI Faces — http://uifaces.com/

UI Blurbs — http://uiblurbs.com

Density Converter — http://density.brdrck.me

LayerVault — https://layervault.com

Nice Entity — http://nice-entity.com

PlaceIMG — http://placeimg.com/

lorempixel — http://lorempixel.com/

Facebox — http://facebox.io


Books

Grid Systems in Graphic Design — http://amzn.to/1aNQC8B

HTML & CSS: Design and Build Web Sites — http://amzn.to/1biuvJi

How to be a Graphic Designer, Without Losing Your Soul — http://amzn.to/1eooTjo

The Shape of Design — http://www.buyolympia.com/q/Item=frank-chimero-the-shape-of-design

A Practical Guide to Designing for the Web — http://www.fivesimplesteps.com/products/a-practical-guide-to-designing-for-the-web

Hardboiled Web Design — https://shop.smashingmagazine.com/hardboiled-web-design.html

Designing for the web (Free) — http://designingfortheweb.co.uk/

Smashing Book #4 — https://shop.smashingmagazine.com/smashing-book-4-new-perspectives-on-web-design.html

The Geometry of Type — http://amzn.to/1ekRiSV

Insites: The Book — http://viewportindustries.com/insites-the-book

Don’t Make Me Think — http://amzn.to/1ekRul6

Above the Fold — http://amzn.to/1cLAIdv

Design is a Job — www.abookapart.com/products/design-is-a-job

Thinking with Type, Second Revised and Expanded Edition: A Critical Guide for Designers, Writers, Editors, and Students — http://amzn.to/1ixVKOc

The Visual Display of Quantitative Information — http://amzn.to/1n8vezb

Exciting news! — This list has been turned into a web app — http://oozled.com

    Dan Edwards

    Written by

    Designer @ProductHunt 😻 Curating all the things @DesignRoundup

    Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
    Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
    Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade