MARKETING IS FUN IF YOU DO THESE 2 SIMPLE THINGS…

Ethel Egboja
3 min readMay 26, 2022

--

I have heard many people talk about the difficulty in getting clients for their products, services, and offers. One thing I never stop saying is this; Maybe you are investing in the wrong things or doing it wrong altogether.

Marketing is fun not scary.

As a business owner, your primary goal should be getting loyal customers who will want to come back to you for the same service they got the previous time or even more, or tell other people to come to you for the same service or more. This brings me to the referrals strategy where I get more for less from my clients. What does this mean?

Referrals have proven to be one of the most effective means of customer acquisition and as such, we cannot ignore the giant strides it helps us achieve; from being our indirect marketers through word of mouth to being our loyal fans for as long as it takes. Making purchasing decisions isn’t as easy as it seems and making a client choose you over the other million businesses providing the same services as you is even more difficult. I know this for a fact as during my early days in business, I could barely convert three clients a month from doing no marketing at all, which brought an early death to this business. Don’t worry that was years ago and I didn’t know what I know now.

Enough of the scary stories!!! LOL.

Marketing is easier these days and as much as attention span reduces every time, there are more ways to sell to a customer now than before.

Having a top-notch customer service ranks supreme in today’s business world and you should take advantage of this fact. I always encourage my clients to never trade this for anything else and never stop training their staff too. I know you would say; “But I also need money to pay for these trainings” No you don’t have to since there are many free trainings and the internet provides valuable content for free. YouTube too. Take advantage of all these free resources and there you go; Win!

Prioritize your customers as without them, there is no you.

Let’s go back to the first thing I said; Referrals (A business referral is when someone in your network recommends your business to a new prospect.) Remember the 80–20 rule, also known as the Pareto Principle? which states that 80% of outcomes (outputs) result from 20% of all causes (inputs) for any given event. This is indirectly talking about referrals. Imagine having 5 customers talk about your business to their friends or family who in the end come to buy from you.

Let’s do the math: Referrals(5)x Family/Friends(4) = 20 clients. So you indirectly got 20 sales(outcomes) from 5 referees(inputs).

Simple. Right?

There is no limit to what great customer service and a referral strategy can do for your business.

Be that brand people want to come back to and refer people to!!!

--

--